Club Members Recognized for their Significant Contributions during 2014-15

Posted by Ed Kolybaba on June 30, 2015

Out-going club 2014-15 president Greig McPhee not only recognized Maribeth Friesen (Dale Frandsen Award Recipient) and Linda Frandsen (Rotarian of the Year Recipient); he also recognized many others for their contributions for their valued contributions and service during the 2014-15 Rotary Year.

Paul Harris Fellow Award



In recognition of exceptional contributions to the club and/or the community, Julie McTaggart, 2014-15 Past-President of the Rotaract Club of Kelowna, was presented with a Paul Harris Fellow Award. In doing so, Greig McPhee stated that Julie had made a significant contribution, not only to her club, but to the Rotary Club of Kelowna Sunrise and to the 2015 District 5060 Conference.

Distinguished Service Citations

Distinguished Service Citations were presented to ten club Rotarians. Prior to making the presentation, Greig McPhee shared that "every year we have a number of individuals that go beyond their responsibilities and through their efforts contribute to altering our club in a positive way.....who use their personal gifts to make our club one that we are proud to belong to and that others find reason to join."



The recipients of the citations included:

Bob Fortier: For leadership and perseverance in broadening the role of Secretary and establishing an accurate membership count for KSR across all Rotary records;

Jane Fletcher: For devotion and proficiency in the production of an attractive and award winning Weekly Bulletin that is also a good read;

Ed Kolybaba: For leadership, vision and creativity in the development of the club website which is not only interesting to view but has served to attract new members into the club;

Max Mosley: For leadership, initiative and commitment in the position of Chair of the Membership/Mentorship Committee and for guiding the club through the necessary transitional process required from the club's Visioning Goals;

Doreen Welsh: For leadership, perseverance and enthusiasm moving the club forward in a very challenging environment to promote numerous possible fundraising alternatives that the club requires;

Laurel D'Andrea: For leadership and guidance in assisting and developing the future fundraising activities of the club;

Martha Kennedy: For dedication and initiative to satisfy the varying needs of not one but two Exchange Students in 2014-15, Gabi from Columbia and Chiara from Italy;

Maribeth Friesen: For leadership, dedication and initiative in the operation of the club's weekly program and front desk duties during, at times, a quite difficult transitional year;

Jim Belshaw: For leadership and vision in the creation of Shoe Bank Canada from the previous Soles 4 Souls organization; and

Steve Goddard: For leadership and perseverance in the operation of Shoe Bank Canada during trying personal times.

President's Citation Awards

Ken Spence and Bill Reynolds were each awarded with the President's Citation Award for their outstanding service as key executive members for an extended period of time.

Ken was recognized for his significant and dedicated service to the club for the past 10 years (2005-06 - 2014-15) as the club treasurer, a position that entails constant vigilance and personal sacrifice. In his capacity of treasurer, the club enjoyed efficient financial administration and management and timely and accurate reporting of the club's finances; and through his service greatly affected the club member's and public's perception, trust, and assurance in the organizational management of the Rotary Club of Kelowna Sunrise.

Bill was recognized for his demanding and efficient role in the club's four year executive cycle and for his ability and perseverance through difficult club leadership responsibilities, particularly during the 2013-14 year when Greig, as president-elect, was unable to fulfill his role for a period of time due to health reasons. His support and involvement at the executive level, during club meetings, and with the Fellowship and Membership Service Committees were greatly appreciated.