The Officers of the Rotary Club of Kelowna Sunrise Serve as the Clubs' Trustees

Story by Ed Kolybaba Sep 23, 2021



Effective Leadership, through the act of trusteeship, is the key to a Rotary club's success and growth, and to its core function to provide humanitarian service and to advance goodwill and peace around the world.

Through trusteeship, the president and his/her executive/board's commission is to serve as trustees. As trustees, they carry out the function of watching, guarding, overseeing or managing the club, its culture, its purpose and its focus in accordance with Rotary

International.

The officers guided by the president and working cooperatively with the president, give, show, and assume leadership while "holding the charter of public trust" as trustees of the club. They give leadership when responding to situations, through their actions, and when determining a course of action or deciding to move the Rotary club in a certain direction.

The Rotary Club of Kelowna Sunrise expresses gratitude to and honours the Rotarians who are currently members of the club for their service in providing leadership as the president of the club; and to the Rotarians who are now members of the club but have served as president with other clubs. The club is also appreciative of those who have served in this position but who are no longer members of the club. In their capacity as presidents, all have taken on the role of trustees with dignity, truth and compassion.

Past Presidents of the RC of Kelowna Sunrise				
Wayne Duchart	1987-88	Craig Garries	2012-13	
Graham Bell	1991-92	Barb Penner	2013-14	
Don Turri	1994-95	Greig McPhee	2014-15	
Jerry Sedmak	1995-96	Patrick McAllister	2016-17	
Wayne Evans	1996-97	Andy Griffin	2017-18	
Bob Sibson	2001-02	Maribeth Friesen	2018-19	
Bruce Falkins	2004-05	Susan McIntyre	2019-20	
Don Martin	2007-08	Norm LeCavalier	2020-21	
Paul Mulvihill	2010-11			



Past Presidents of Other Rotary Clubs

Bob Fortier	1984-85	RC Prince George Nechako
Bob Fortier	1985-86	RC Prince George Nechako
Brian Fennell	1997-98	RC Calgary North
Brenda Bell	2001-02	RC Okanagan Mission
John Pouliot	2003-04	RC Westbank
Vic Spolia	2003-04	RC Kamloops Daybreak
Ed Kolybaba	2004-05	RC Westbank
Gary Bennett	2006-07	RC Kelowna
Jery Urquhart	2007-08	RC Kelowna Okanagan Mission
Marjolein Lloyd	2009-10	RC Westbank
Randall Bamford	2012-13	RC Salmon Arm Daybreak
Kate Kutzner	2017-18	Kelowna Rotaract Club
Jim Hunter	Unknown	RC Kleinburg, ON.



Check out the article found on this website under the site section "Editorials" authored by Ed Kolybaba on the topic of "trusteeship" and the "types of leadership" the president and officers assume as trustees of the Rotary Club of Kelowna Sunrise. You must be signed in to read the article