	ROTAN		askatoon Nutana <b>Rotary</b> Club		CREATE HOPE in the WORLD	
September 26th, 2023 September 2023 Theme: Basic Education & Literacy					Program Chair: Candace Odishaw	
Date	Rotana Editor	Greeter	Cheer Captain	Speaker/Topic	Intro	Club Thanks
Oct 03	Norm Woodcock	Nuru Nyoni	Candace Odishaw	Will Grant St. Edward School and St Mary's Wellness and Education Centre		Walt Pawlovich
Oct 17	Norm Woodcock	Zibah Saluadeen	Asit Sarkar	Carm Michalenko Vocational		Jack Scott

# PROGRAM

Todays meeting was held in Rotary Peace Plaza where the annual installation of a memorial Peace Prize brick is installed in the plaza surrounding the Peace Flame,

This years brick is sponsored by Asit and Ila Sarkar to honour the 1995 Nobel Peace Prize recipients Joseph Rotblat and the Pugwash Conferences on Sciences and World Affairs, The common thread between the two winners is the opposition to the use of nuclear weapons

When Joseph Rotblat was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1995, 50 years had passed since the atom bombs were dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. But it was 52 years since Joseph Rotblat had first taken a stance against the development of the new weapons of mass destruction. In his opinion, science and research should serve the cause of peace.

Of Jewish descent, Rotblat was born in Warsaw, Poland. He studied physics and took up research in Great Britain in 1939. His work on splitting the atom led him to the conclusion that it was possible to produce an atomic bomb. In 1943 he was given permission to withdraw from the Manhattan Project, in which the United States and Great Britain were cooperating on the production of nuclear weapons. To Rotblat it was clear that Germany would not manage to make an atomic bomb before the war was over. He also feared that nuclear weapons might be used in a clash with the communist Soviet Union.

During the post-war period, Joseph Rotblat has of peace, dialogue and disarmament through the Nobel Peace Prize in 1995. done an enormous amount of work in the cause Pugwash movement, with which he shared the

The purpose of the Pugwash Conferences is to bring together, from around the world, influential scientists, scholars and public figures concerned with reducing the danger of armed conflict and seeking cooperative solutions for global problems. Meeting in private as individuals, rather than as representatives of governments or institutions, Pugwash participants exchange views and explore alternative approaches to arms control and tension reduction with a combination of candor, continuity, and flexibility seldom attained in official East-West and North-South discussions and negotiations. Yet, because of the stature of many of the Pugwash participants in their own countries (as, for example, science and arms-control advisers to governments, key figures in academies of science and universities, and former and future holders of high government office), insights from Pugwash discussions tend to penetrate quickly to the appropriate levels of official policy-making.

Following lunch, Sophia Opekokew-Lariviere and Aquin MacDougall, grade 7 students from St. Anne Inquiry School served as program leaders and introduced Peyton Perry who brought opening remarks and acknowledgement of the Treaty 6 Territory. St. Anne students led in the singing of O Canada which was followed by Jim Gillis leading us in the musical rendition of the Four-way Test Song.

Club Co-president Peggy Clark welcomed all to the ceremony. This is the 13<sup>th</sup> year it has been held in recognition of Nobel Laureates.

Kris Hanson, Principal of St. Anne's Inquiry School and Wayne Stuss of the Greater Saskatoon Catholic School Division brought greetings. Wayne is also a supervisor of the MVA.

Asit Sarkar outlined our continuing recognition Nobel Laureates as well as our continuing coordination with St. Anne's School. St. Anne grade 8 students Samuel Adeyemi, Kingston Mapes, Annika LePage & Samuel Ling described the significance of the work of Joseph Rotblat, 1995 Nobel Peace Prize Awardee and his efforts to establish the Pugwash Conferences to work towards peace following the development of the atomic bomb.

Andrea Lafond, CEO of the Meewasin Valley

Authority brought concluding remark and Betty Ann Arscott expressed our Club thanks to all the students and visitors for their participation at the celebration.







Asit and Ila



Students from St. Mary's



Andrea Lafond

## The next Parktown meeting is on October 3<sup>rd</sup>.

### Officers

President - Betty Ann Arscott and Peggy Clark. Secretary – Jack Scott Treasurer – Bob MacGillivray

#### **Board members**

Club Administration-CandaceOdishaw Membership–Betty Ann Arscott and Karol Komar Major Projects- Jim Gillis Service – Dorothy Hudson Rotary Foundation- Asit Sarkar, Zebah Salaudeen Youth – Candace Odishaw, Hannah Enti-Brown Image Committee/Communication– Candace Odishaw

## Rotary International RI President – Gordon McInally District Governor – Sonya Susut District Leadership Team – Ruth Merritt

#### Contact Information

Rotary Club of Saskatoon Nutana Club No. 1380 Founded May 31, 1961 P. O. Box 441, Saskatoon, SK S7K 3L6 Club website: <u>www.rotarynutana.org</u> Club Facebook Link: <u>(11) Saskatoon Nutana Rotary Club | Facebook</u> Club email address: <u>nutanarotary@gmail.com</u>

Links

District 5550 <u>http://www.clubrunner.ca/portal/home.aspx?did=5550</u> Rotary International <u>www.rotary.org</u>