





September 27, 2022 Editor: Candace Odishaw

October 2022 Theme: Economic and Community Development

Program Chairs: Lorne Braithwaite and Jim Gilles

community Development					
Date	Rotana Editor	Cheer Captain	Speaker/Topic	Intro	Club Thanks
October 4	Norm Woodcock or Jim Blackburn	Jack Scott	Lisa Thibodeau – City of Saskatoon "Helping Community Associations Build a Better Saskatoon	Lorne	Jim Blackburn
October 11	Norm Woodcock or Jim Blackburn	Carm Michalenko	Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools	Lorne or Jim G	Asit Sarkar
October 18	Norm Woodcock or Jim Blackburn	N/A	Raymond Laliberte, Exec. Director of SIMFC (Meeting will be at SIMFC)	Lorne or Jim G	Norm Woodcock
October 25	Norm Woodcock or Jim Blackburn	Stan Garchinski	Jason Aebig - CEO Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce "Helping Small Business in Saskatoon Succeed"	Lorne or Jim G	Walt Pawlovich

Announcements & Program Highlights

Today the club met at the Peace Plaza at Rotary Park for its 15th annual Brick Dedication Ceremony. Guests included students from Grade 7 and 8 from St. Anne Inquiry School, Principal Kris Hanson and teacher Dustin Kasun. Mike Gramiak organized lunch from Taste of Syria then Betty Anne played O'Canada and 4 Way Test Song. Emcees Abby Boehmer and Shenina Lubuguin did a great job introducing everyone except for Mrs. Odishaw, however we will let it slide this time.

Kris Hanson, Principal of St. Anne School gave his greetings, then Wayne Stus GSCS trustee and Supervisor with Meewasin. Asit Sarkar gave a great intro to Rotary's Nobel Peace Laureate Recognition and thanked the students for their continued partnership with the club on this project.

Grade 7 and 8 students Owen Cook, Codey Koehler, Luc Cunningham, Pen Quiring and Patric Zaharia presented their research on Doctors Without Borders and why they won the 1999 Nobel Peace Prize for all they have done and continue to do throughout the world.

Andrea Lafond followed the students with her emotional speech as she thanked the students for their presentations and hard work and the continued partnership with the club. Lorne Braithwaite gave thanks to the students on behalf of the club.

Thank you again to all that helped with the organizing of the day and a special thanks to Norm and Sharon Woodcock for sponsoring this year brick.

You can view pictures and story on our club website at rotarynutana.org.

See you Tuesday at Park Town.

Officers

President – Candace Odishaw Vice-President – TBD Past President – Mike Gramiak Secretary - Jack Scott Treasurer - Bob MacGillivray

Board members

Administration- Peggy Clark
Membership - Betty Ann Arscott and Karol Komar
Projects- Jim Gilles
Rotary Foundation- Ravi Chibbar and Lorne Braithwaite
New Generations - Michael Gramiak
Image Committee/Communications - Candace Odishaw

Rotary International

RI President – Jennifer Jones District Governor – Fred Wright Assistant Governor – Candace Odishaw

Contact Information:

Rotary Club of Saskatoon Nutana

Club No. 1380

Founded May 31, 1961

P. O. Box 441, Saskatoon, SK S7K 3L6 Club website: www.rotarynutana.org

Club Facebook Link: (11) Saskatoon Nutana Rotary Club | Facebook

Club email address: nutanarotary@gmail.com

Links:

District 5550 http://www.clubrunner.ca/portal/home.aspx?did=5550 Rotary International www.rotary.org

