



RUR'WESTER

Rotary Club of Northwest Des Moines

Eric Dickinson

August 6, 2010

Gary Welch

District Governor

Arranged By:
Eric Dickinson
Greeter:
Liz Nead
Invocation:
Kevin Smith
Sergeant:
Dianne D-Nelson

2010 Officers & Directors

Scribe: Matt Bunker

Eric Dickinson, President
Wanda Armstrong, President Elect
Brad Helgemo, Secretary
Marcus Dunn, Treasurer
Ed Arnold, Director
Jim Arthur, Director
Dan Boes, Director
Jenifer M-K, Director
Diane Porter, Director
Wendi Wilson, Past President
Dianne D-Nelson, Exec Sec
Bill Corwin, Exec Treas

Future Programs

8/13: Bill Sheridan Freelance Writer

8/20: Jonathan Ribble Semindars

Prez Sez...

This week it is our club's honor to welcome our District Governor, Gary Welch. Governor Welch's visit will give us the opportunity to share about the ways in which our club is, has and will relate to our community. The Rotary Club of Northwest Des Moines should be proud of what we have done and can be assured that things ahead will be even better.

The Governor's visit is about being reminded of the role we, as a local club, play in the larger world of Rotary. Whether we work here locally with George Washington Carver, the Bike Collective, the city trails, Reading Corners or internationally with Xicotepec, Mexico, Nigeria, or Haiti; all of these have helped to make the world a better place. All of this is sharing in the idea of "Service Above Self".

Scribbles

John Viars

Des Moines Playhouse

The Des Moines Community Playhouse is the 6th oldest and 2nd largest Community Playhouse in the Country out of 7000. It was started in 1919. They have 1000 volunteers and a \$2 million annual budget. The Playhouse is one of very few that have paid professional directors.

The Playhouse was started because of people moving in from farms because of the Industrial Revolution. Their first performance, Three Little Plays by the Iowa Press and Authors Club, was held at the City Auditorium. Additional locations of their plays included the Hoyt Sherman Place and East High School.

The first home of the Playhouse was at Greenwood Congregational Church and was called the Kendall Community Playhouse. They remained there from 1927 to 1952 when they moved to their

present home at the old Roosevelt Theatre which was built in 1934. Extensive remodeling turned it into the Des Moines Community Playhouse.

One play of significance was Peace Child which was performed in 1987 and 1989. The Playhouse achieved international recognition with this cultural exchange production.

In 1993 they started the Kate Goldman Children's Theatre including the now popular Spotlight Literacy program and the Theatre for the child with Autism.

Celebrities that did shows at the Playhouse include Cloris Leachman, Meredith Wilson and Peter Hedges.

Two new shows coming up at the Des Moines Community Playhouse are:

The Drowsy Chaperone on Sept 10th Duck Hunter Shoots Angel on Nov. 5th

Scribe, James Alan Smidt

Other Local Meetings

Rotary Out & About

<u>Tuesday</u>

Ankeny, Ankeny Golf & Country Club, (11:45)
Johnston, Hyperion Golf & CC, (7:00 am)
Dallas Center, Memorial Hall, (Noon)
West Des Moines, DM Golf & CC, (Noon)

<u>Wednesday</u>

East Polk County, Prairie Meadows, (7:00 am)

Adel, Patrick's Restaurant, 211 S 7th St, #C, (Noon)

The Greater Des Moines Club, Jimmy's (6:00 pm)

Thursday

Waukee, Des Moines Golf & Country Club, (6:45 am)

Des Moines, Wakonda Club, (Noon)

Winterset, Northside Cafe, (Noon)

<u>Friday</u>

Des Moines, AM, Wakonda Club at 3915 Fleur Dr. (7:00 am)









We'll Be Singing . . .

Opening: Star Spangled Banner

Song Time:

I've Been Workin' on the Railroad (#41) Smiles



Aug 1 Marcus Dunn

Items for the Nor'Wester should be submitted every Wednesday by Noon. Please send to:

Jenifer Mercer-Klimowski

Phone: 515-237-2203 Fax: 515-237-2283 elliotspudmom@yahoo.com



For the next 3 weeks we will be

asking for contributions to help

s pay for Jaime Wurts chemo

Future Information

<u>Program</u>	<u>Greeters</u>	<u>Invocation</u>	<u>Sergeant</u>	<u>Scribe</u>
Chairperson:	Chairperson:	Chairperson:	Chairperson:	Chairperson:
Leslie Malcom	Wanda Armstrong	Jim Pittman	Beth Goedken	Larry Sample
Leslie Malcom, Aug 13	Matt Bunker, Aug 13	David Smith, Aug 13	Ed Arnold, Aug 13	Brenda A-Mailey, Aug 13
Leslie Malcom, Aug. 20	Ed Arnold, Aug. 20	Tim Sitzmann, Aug 20	Jim Pittman, Aug. 20	Dan Boes, Aug 20
Leslie Malcom, Aug. 27	Lloyd Hill, Aug. 27	Doyle Sanders, Aug 27	Cam Torstenson, Aug. 27	Jeff Bremer, Aug 27