### DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

Rotary International has long been recognized as preeminent among service clubs. Its projects local, national and international have been of immeasurable value to countless millions of every race, creed and color. It is therefore fitting that our club's top annual recognition, the Distinguished Service Award, be heavily oriented toward community service.

Our Committee is responsible for selecting the recipient of our Annual Distinguished Service Award. The criteria for the award are listed below:

- 1. Proficient resident of El Paso and well known in the community as one who has made significant contributions to the betterment of the city and/or an important segment of its population.
- 2. Her/his contributions can be easily identified and recognized.
- 3. Her/his actions in the public sphere should be in general concert with the Four-Way Test.
- 4. Her/his integrity and character should be of the highest order.

Every effort will be made to achieve maximum publicity. The realization of this goal will assure honor and recognition to the recipient and, in the process, will further public understanding of Rotary International and, specifically, our own club. Representatives of the print and electronic media will be invited to be our guests at lunch and will be provided with press kits containing photos and biographical material of the recipient, as well as fact sheets about the Rotary Club of El Paso, our Foundation, the criteria used in the selection, previous winners of the Award, supporting data on the current selectee's accomplishments.

The Awards Committee solicits and would appreciate receiving nominations of El Pasoans you feel merit consideration for the 2016 award. Nomination forms are attached. Please turn in your recommendations to Chairman, Yasser Murga at your earliest convenience or to the Rotary Office at 100 S Alto Mesa Dr., El Paso TX 79912.

Yasser Murga

DSA Chairman, 2015-16 yasser.murga@epelectric.com

## ROTARY CLUB OF EL PASO

#### 2015-2016 Distinguished Service Award Nomination Form

#### Criteria:

- 1. Proficient resident of El Paso and well known in the community and one who has made significant contributions to the betterment of the city and/or an important segment of its population.
- 2. Her/his contributions can be easily identified and recognized.
- 3. Her/his actions in the public eye should be in line with the Rotary Four-Way Test.
- 4. Her/his integrity and character should be of the highest order.

Nominee:
Address:
Phone:
What makes your nominee special?
Please give a capsulated account of your nominee's accomplishments that would make her/him a good candidate for the Distinguished Service Award:

Sponsoring Rotarian:

# ROTARY CLUB OF EL PASO Distinguished Service Award PAST RECIPIENTS

<b>1981</b> Abraham Chavez, Jr. Conductor, El Paso Symphony Orchestra	<b>1982</b> Marian Z. Given Director, El Paso Child Guidance Center	<b>2011</b> Dr. Herbert H. Ortega President, Health Organization, Intl'
<b>1983</b> Christian Petrus Fox Civic Leader	<b>1984</b> Albert James Schwartz Civic Leader	<b>2012</b> Dr. Carlos A. Gutierrez Health Care Benefactor
<b>1985</b> Dr. Judson F. Williams Civic Leader	<b>1986</b> Leonard A. Goodman, Jr. Civic Leader	<b>2013</b> Jose Manuel de la Rosa, M.D. Health Care Benefactor
<b>1987</b> Evern R. Wall President & Chairman of Board, El Paso Electric Co.	<b>1988</b> Jack C. Vowell State Representative, District 70	<b>2014</b> Salvador Balcorta Community Leader
<b>1989</b> Susan Mayfield Civic Leader	<b>1990</b> Tom Lea Artist/Author	<b>2015</b> Roger Ortiz, D.D.S. Community Leader
<b>1991</b> Beatrice "Bitty" Gladstone Civic Leader and Founder of Visiting Nurse Assn. of El Paso	<b>1992</b> Richard W. Mithoff Civic Leader	
<b>1993</b> Dr. Diana Natalicio University President	<b>1994</b> Herbert M. Schwartz Civic Leader	
<b>1995</b> Charles H. Leavell Business and Civic Leader	<b>1996</b> Laurence N. Nickey, M.D. Director, City Health District	
<b>1997</b> Myrna George Deckert Executive Director, YWCA	<b>1998</b> Peter de Wetter Business and Civic Leader	
<b>1999</b> Woody L. Hunt Business and Civic Leader	<b>2000</b> Irving J. "Sonny" Brown Rotary, Business and Civic Leader	
<b>2001</b> Jim R. Phillips Business and Civic Leader	<b>2002</b> Richard H. "Rickie" Feuille Business and Civic Leader	
<b>2003</b> Ellis O. Mayfield Business and Civic Leader	<b>2004</b> Jack Cardwell Business and Civic Leader	
<b>2005</b> Don Haskins Community Leader	<b>2006</b> Adair Margo Civic Leader	
<b>2007</b> Jimmy Rogers, Jr. Civic Leader	<b>2008</b> Mary Ann Dodson Civic Leader	
<b>2009</b> Paul L. Foster Civic Leader	<b>2010</b> Dr. Richard M. Rhodes Civic Leader	
Paul L. Foster	Dr. Richard M. Rhodes	