Rotary Club of Lake Placid holds ChangeOver event

L lakeplacidnews.com/news/local-news/2024/08/15/rotary-club-of-lake-placid-holds-changeover-event

Local News Aug 15, 2024



The Rotary Club of Lake Placid officers and directors for 2024/25 are, from left, Joe McEvoy (sergeant at arms), MaryLiz Alexander (Membership Committee co-chair), Greg McNally (director), Heather Perkins (treasurer), Stephanie Pianka (president-elect), Kate Thompson (president), Chandler Ralph (vice president) and Lee Lamparski (director). (Provided photo — Rotary Club of Lake Placid)

LAKE PLACID — The Rotary Club of Lake Placid held it's 31st annual ChangeOver event on June 27. This is one of the traditions of Rotary clubs globally — enjoying the annual "changing of the guard" — and their new Rotary year, where they show appreciation to committees and officers for work achieved, induct new officers and recognize special contribution to the club and community.

Dinner was held on a cool early summer evening at the Cambria Hotel in Lake Placid.

In addition to enjoying entertainment provided by a magician and dinner, the new slate of officers and directors was sworn in for the 2024-25 Rotary year.

Three prestigious awards were made.

– Cali Brooks, president and CEO of the Adirondack Foundation, received the "Service Above Self" award. It is awarded by Rotary clubs globally and is one of the highest honors bestowed acknowledging remarkable contributions that impact our communities and humanity. This award is for a non-Rotarian, awarded by the club to someone who places particular emphasis on personal contributions and active engagement aligned with Rotary's mission to support and uplift others in our community.



Stephanie Pianka, left, presents the "Service Above Self" Award to 2024 winner Cali Brooks. (Provided photo — Rotary Club of Lake Placid)

– The winner of our "Eagle Award" for Rotarian of the Year was presented to John Huttlinger, a charter member of the Lake Placid club, who has served for several years as club treasurer. This award recognizes an individual that has made extraordinary contributions to the Lake Placid Rotary Club and whose fellowship and service is greatly appreciated by all club members, and whose work has made a real and tangible impact in the community.

– The Paul Harris award recipients are Rotarians and community professionals, recognized for their outstanding contributions, exemplifying the highest ideal in Rotary in placing service above self. The award recognizes tangible and significant assistance given for the furtherance of Rotary ideals and for contributions to the Lake Placid Rotary Club and Rotary globally. This year, two individuals were recognized as Paul Harris Fellows, Zay Curtis and Stephanie Pianka.

The following 2024/25 slate of officers and directors for the club who were inducted were: Kate Thompson, president; Stephanie Pianka, president-elect; Chandler Ralph, vice president; Charlotte Newbury, secretary; Heather Perkins, treasurer; MaryLiz Alexander, Membership Committee co-chair; Lee Lamparski, director; Greg McNally, director; and Joe McAvoy, sergeant at arms.

Heather Perkins presents John
Huttlinger with the Eagle Award
(Rotarian of the Year). (Provided photo
— Rotary Club of Lake Placid)

