

Rotary Club of Lake in the Hills, IL

District 6440 Meeting Minutes August 12, 2015



- Meeting called to order at approximately 12:00 noon.
- Members present TJ Clifton, Yvonne Cornett, Bill Dustin, Carol Gates, Shelby Key, Ron Magrini, Chris Moran, Dorie Ruzanski, Jerry Sagona, Hunter Turasky, Colleen Wales, Jim Wales and Kathy Wizniak.
- ➤ The draft recommended Bylaw change, which had been emailed out to all members on July 30, 2015 in both markup and clean copy version, was discussed. Motion was made to approve said bylaw change which was seconded. Vote by the general membership was all ayes, no nays.
- The clean copy version of the bylaw change is listed below.

Section 1 — On or prior to the first regular meeting in the month of October, the President shall appoint a three member nominating committee, whose duty shall be to screen for eligibility all the candidates for the offices of president, president elect, secretary, treasurer, and four members of the board of directors. To be eligible to hold office as a Director or Officer of the club, a member must:

- (a) Be current in dues;
- (b) Must have, at a minimum, for the immediate past 12 months an attendance record (attend or makeup) at least 60% of Rotary meetings and at a minimum, attend at least 30% of this club's regular meetings or official activities/projects in the previous 12 months.
- (c) EXCEPTION: A member may submit a written request for an exception to the above attendance requirements. The Board will consider each request on a case by case basis and may grant an exception if they determine there were exigent circumstances present, beyond the control of the member that prevented the member from meeting the attendance requirement. Such requests, and any action by the Board on said request, must take place prior to November 1.

At the first regular meeting in the month of November, the President shall ask for the-slate of eligible candidates from the nominating committee. The nominations duly made as well as any nominations from the floor shall then be placed on a ballot in alphabetical order under each office and shall be voted for at the annual meeting which shall be the first regular meeting in the month of December. The candidates for president, president-elect, secretary, and treasurer receiving a majority of the votes shall be declared elected to their respective offices. The four candidates for director receiving a majority of

the votes shall be declared elected as directors. The president elect shall serve as vice president in the
president's absence, and assume office as president on the first day