Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2008 Athletic Awards

     Since 1946 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at his school for the next twelve months.


Glen "Doc" Miller Most Valuable Football Player

Ryan Edwards, West High School

Ryan Edwards addresses the luncheon after receiving his award

This regulation-size gold football, mounted on a base, is a travelling trophy given each year by the Downtown Waterloo Rotary to the outstanding player in football in the Waterloo Schools. It is given in memory of an outstanding Rotarian, Glen "Doc" Miller, a great athelte and president of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1954. "Doc" was captain of the University of Iowa football team in 1923, and a player on the great Iowa teams of 1921-22 which beat Yale.

     Awards are presented at a luncheon attended by Rotarians, the senior players from each of the area teams, their coaches, parents, and honored guests. Scroll down to see pictures of the MVP picks from East High and Columbus.

62nd Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Football Recognition Luncheon

Presented November 24th, 2008

Honored Guests

Dr. Gary Norris, Superintendent of Schools

Denise Schares, Assoc. Superintendent for Educational & Student Services

Cora Turner, Director of Student Services

Cathy Walz, Director of Education, Cedar Valley Catholic Schools

Columbus High School - Tom Ulses, Principal, Aundra Meeks, Atletic Director
East High School - Dr. Willie Barney, Principal, Brenton Shavers, Athletic Director
West High School - Dr. Gail Moon, Principal, Jeff Frost, Athletic Director

2008 MVP Volleyball Selections

Corey Turner, East - Ryan Edwards, West - Mac O'Brien, Columbus

Columbus High School

Presenting the MVP award to Mac O'Brien is Waterloo Rotary President, Mason Fromm

East High School


Presenting the MVP award to Corey Turner is Waterloo Rotary President Mason Fromm

West High School

Presenting the MVP award to Ryan Edwards is Waterloo Rotary President Mason Fromm

Special thanks to the 2008 Rotary Football Committee and volunteers: Mike Young, Kelli McCarthy, Soo Grieman, Carol Walters, Michael Davidson, and Rob Whitney.   Roger Olesen provided both the Glenn "Doc" Miller plaque that is given to the award recipient and the travelling trophy that is given to the recipient. Thanks to Mike Walden for all photographs, and Mason Fromm for webpage.