Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2009 Athletic Awards

     Since 1946 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at his school for the next twelve months.


Glen "Doc" Miller Most Valuable Football Player

Mike Steimel, West High School

This regulation-size gold football, mounted on a base, is a travelling trophy given each year by the Downtown Waterloo Rotary to the outstanding player in football in the Waterloo Schools. It is given in memory of an outstanding Rotarian, Glen "Doc" Miller, a great athelte and president of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1954. "Doc" was captain of the University of Iowa football team in 1923, and a player on the great Iowa teams of 1921-22 which beat Yale.

     Awards are presented at a luncheon attended by Rotarians, the senior players from each of the area teams, their coaches, parents, and honored guests. Scroll down to see pictures of the MVP picks from each school.

63rd Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Football Recognition Luncheon

Presented November 22nd, 2009

Honored Guests

Dr. Gary Norris, Superintendent of Schools

Denise Schares, Assoc. Superintendent for Educational & Student Services

Cathy Walz, Director of Education, Cedar Valley Catholic Schools

Columbus High School - Tom Ulses, Principal, Aundra Meeks, Atletic Director
East High School - Dr. Willie Barney, Principal, Brenton Shavers, Athletic Director
West High School - Dr. Gail Moon, Principal, Jeff Frost, Athletic Director

Guest Speaker - Gary Barta, Athletic Director, University of Iowa

2009 MVP Football Selections

Harrison Shelby III, East - Mike Steimel, West - Nick Maas, Columbus

Columbus High School

Head Coach: Aundra Meeks
Assistants: Cassidy Coughlin, Mike Green, Mike McKinley, Tim Ingles, Casey Watkins, and the late Charlie Schneiders.
Team Chaplain: Msgr. Paul Steimel
Sam Blumhardt Marcus Buls Bart Frederick Austin Kazarian Tyler Kieffer Ben Knipp
Nick Maas Raymond Morehouse Austin Myers Jim Nora Coral Rucker III

Presenting the MVP award to Nick Maas is Football Luncheon Co-Chair Mike Young

East High School

Head Coach: Antonio Mays
Assistants: Richard Carter, Chase Honn, Aric Robinson, Terrance Freeney, Rob Griffith, Corey Lang, Ryan Sallis, and Ed Madlock

Robert Anderson Alonzo Beckham Tevin Brown Darrien Curry Jamarkkus Evans Justin Goodwin
Jacob Helgeson Antwone Marshall Riccondus Martin Andres Martinez Dajoni Norris Dayshone Outlaw
Mark Ross Dajour Sawyers Zack Sharp Harrison Shelby III Kendrick Veasley

Presenting the MVP award to Harrison Shelby III is Football Luncheon Co-Chair Mike Young

West High School

Head Coach: Lonnie Moore
Assistants: Matt Dunn, Justin Galbraith, Kellap Grant, Josh Payton, Andy Payton, David Tredwell, Sam Hudson, Matt Grimm,
Eddie Fischer, Kyle Knox, Shane Kohls, David Milder, Chris Van Syoc, Andy Wolfe

Javan Aimable Eric Alderman Jordan Boyenga Isiah Cook Marshun Cooper Josh Diehm
Bart Hansen Eric Harbaugh Noah Henze Alex Hirdler Dequandis Humphrey Josh Jaramillo
Antoine Knight Nick Massina Connor McClain Amir Mekanovic Russell Nabholz Alex Nank
Anthony Patterson Michael Relaz Brent Renz Dashawn Richardson Benjamin Samek Mike Steimel
Buster Worthington Jeremy Wright

Presenting the MVP award to Mike Steimel is Football Luncheon Co-Chair Mike Young

Special thanks to the 2009 Rotary Football Committee and volunteers: Mike Young, Kelli McCarthy, Soo Grieman, Carol Walters, and Chris Hurley.   Roger Olesen provided both the Glenn "Doc" Miller plaques that are given to each award recipient and the travelling trophy that is given to the overall MVP. Thanks to Mike Walden for photography, and Mason Fromm for webpage.