Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2010 Athletic Awards

     Since 1946 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at his school for the next twelve months.


Glen "Doc" Miller Most Valuable Football Player

Lamar Sayles, Columbus High School

This regulation-size gold football, mounted on a base, is a travelling trophy given each year by the Downtown Waterloo Rotary to the outstanding player in football in the Waterloo Schools. It is given in memory of an outstanding Rotarian, Glen "Doc" Miller, a great athelte and president of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1954. "Doc" was captain of the University of Iowa football team in 1923, and a player on the great Iowa teams of 1921-22 which beat Yale.

     Awards are presented at a luncheon attended by Rotarians, the senior players from each of the area teams, their coaches, parents, and honored guests. Scroll down to see pictures of the MVP picks from each school.

64th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Football Recognition Luncheon

Presented November 22nd, 2010

Honored Guests

Dr. Gary Norris, Superintendent of Schools

Cora Turner, Executive Director of Student Services

Jeff Frost, Director of Education, Cedar Valley Catholic Schools

Columbus Catholic High School - Tom Ulses, Principal, Aundra Meeks, Atletic Director
East High School - Dr. Willie Barney, Principal, Todd Coulter, Athletic Director
West High School - Dr. Gail Moon, Principal, Dr. anthony Pappas, Athletic Director

2010 MVP Football Selections

Dakota Hottle, West - Lamar Sayles, Columbus - Alex Oliver, East

Columbus High School

Mark Amend, Matthew Cordray, Grant Foreman, Elliott Frost, Michael Goerdt, Taylor Hotek,
Zak Jenn, Skylar Kemp, Brady Kresse, Nate Ott, Austin Rentz, Amir Robinson,
Tyler Roby, Lamar Sayles, Jay Schmit, Michael Schmadeke, George Walters, Doug Zabler

Head Coach: Aundra Meeks
Assistants: Cassidy Coughlin, Dave Floyd, Mike McKinley, Tim Ingles, Casey Watkins, James Nichols.
Team Chaplain: Msgr. Paul Steimel

Columbus MVP Lamar Sayles with Columbus Head Coach, Aundra Meeks

East High School

Wesley Bates, Shawn Boehmer, DaVarsie Gantt, Demetrius Green, Jeremy Helgeson
Derrick Kimbrough, Kris Kraft, Cody Laughlin, Alex Oliver, Tahj Redding, Nick Schutte
Michael Smock, Brandon Spaulding, Jesse Spooner, Toril Sudduth, Dajon Taylor
Patrick Thomas, Demetre VanArsdale, Shawndis Washington, Tylor White, Cameron Winters

Head Coach: Kody Asmus
Assistants: Richard Carter, Aric Robinson, Terrance Freeney, Corey Lang, Justin Brekke, Chuck Lane

Head Coach Kody Asmus with East High MVP Alex Oliver

West High School

Ian Brauer, William Demry, Brent Dunley, Conner Friedly, Jordan Harrington, Jay Hoffman,
Dakota Hottle, Alen Kajtezovic, Zach Holhmeyer, Tarrell Matlock, Austin McMahon,
Chris Miller, Amel Nuhhanovic, Charles O'Brien, Trent Selesky, Dalton Smock, Carlos Woods

Head Coach: Lonnie Moore
Assistants: Matt Dunn, Josh Payton, Andy Payton, David Tredwell, Sam Hudson, Matt Grimm,
Eddie Fischer, Kyle Knox, David Milder, Nick roe, Scott Russell, Dean Youngblut

West High MVP Dakota Hottle with Head Coach Lonnie Moore

Special thanks to the 2009 Rotary Football Committee and volunteers: Chris Hurley, Mike Young, Kelli McCarthy, Soo Grieman, Carol Walters, and Chris Hurley.   Roger Olesen provided both the Glenn "Doc" Miller plaques that are given to each award recipient and the travelling trophy that is given to the overall MVP. Thanks to Tom Arthur for photography, and Mason Fromm for webpage.