Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2011 Athletic Awards

     Since 1946 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at his school for the next twelve months.


Glen "Doc" Miller Most Valuable Football Player

LeTray Reed, East High School

LeTray Reed, Waterloo Rotary President Todd Wordel, Waterloo Rotary Football Awards Chair Chris Hurley

This regulation-size gold football, mounted on a base, is a travelling trophy given each year by the Downtown Waterloo Rotary to the outstanding player in football in the Waterloo Schools. It is given in memory of an outstanding Rotarian, Glen "Doc" Miller, a great athelte and president of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1954. "Doc" was captain of the University of Iowa football team in 1923, and a player on the great Iowa teams of 1921-22 which beat Yale.

     Awards are presented at a luncheon attended by Rotarians, the senior players from each of the area teams, their coaches, parents, and honored guests. Scroll down to see pictures of the MVP picks from each school.

66th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Football Recognition Luncheon

Presented November 21st, 2011

Honored Guests

Dr. Gary Norris, Superintendent of Schools

Cora Turner, Executive Director of Student Services

Jeff Frost, Director of Education, Cedar Valley Catholic Schools

Columbus Catholic High School - Tom Ulses, Principal, Aundra Meeks, Atletic Director
East High School - Dr. Willie Barney, Principal, Todd Coulter, Athletic Director
West High School - Dr. Gail Callahan, Principal, Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director

Guest Speaker, UNI Head Football Coach Mark Farley

2011 MVP Football Selections

Austin Moore, West - Ben Jasper, Columbus - LeTray Reed, East

Columbus High School

Aaron Boesen, Ben Jasper, Justin Klieman, Alex Knipp, Drew Lederman, Michael Letkewicz,
Miles Meyers, Connor O’Neill, Tom Randolph, Pedro Rodriguez, Austin Ross, Frank Schmitz,
Chris Sink, Tucker Sink, Jake Van Besien

Head Coach: Aundra Meeks
Assistants: Cassidy Coughlin, Dave Floyd, Tim Ingles, Mike McKinley, Joe Giachino, Alex Moss, Casey Watkins,
Team Chaplain: Msgr. Paul Steimel

Columbus MVP Ben Jasper with Columbus Head Coach, Aundra Meeks

East High School

Cameron Beebe, Dominique Campbell, Carl Clifton, Jamonne Culp, Travis Gorman, AJ Hackett,
DeMarco Hayes, Robert Lewis III, Corshundo Love, Tyler Meyerhoff, Eugene Mitchell, Joe Mnayer,
Bret Pietro, LeTray Reed, Nathan Sahr, Cole Thomas, Elliot Thompson, Arkell Todd, Chris Walton

Head Coach: Kody Asmus
Assistants: Richard Carter, Jeremy Nixon, Cory Lang, Justin Brekke, Terrance Freeney,
Dave Magnuson, Rob Griffin, Bruce Pietro and Corey Mohammed

Head Coach Kody Asmus with East High MVP LeTray Reed

West High School

Shawn Bowers, Alex Brown, Quinn Buseman, Altavious Campbell, Dequan Campbell, Cody Carlson,
Hasan Didovic, MacKenzie Jones, Jordan Laird, Andrew Martin, Tyrell Martin, Cole Matlock,
Nick Mills, Austin Moore, Graham Paige, Kyle Skillings, Clayton Steimel, Kevin Storey,
Tyler Swyter, Richard Tyler, Walter Williams, Jesse Wolf

Head Coach: Lonnie Moore
Assistants: Matt Dunn, Josh Payton, Andy Payton, David Tredwell, Sam Hudson, Matt Grimm, Eddie Fischer,
Kyle Knox, David Milder, Nick Roe, Scott Russell, Dean Youngblut

West High MVP Austin Moore with Head Coach Lonnie Moore

Special thanks to the 2011 Rotary Football Committee and volunteers.  
Roger Olesen provided both the Glenn "Doc" Miller plaques that are given to each award recipient and
the travelling trophy that is given to the overall MVP. Thanks to Mason Fromm for photography and webpage.