Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2012 Athletic Awards

     Since 1946 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at his school for the next twelve months.


Glen "Doc" Miller Most Valuable Football Player

Russell Jones, East High

Waterloo Rotary President Marty Stoakes presents 2012 MVP Russell Jones

This regulation-size gold football, mounted on a base, is a travelling trophy given each year by the Downtown Waterloo Rotary to the outstanding player in football in the Waterloo Schools. It is given in memory of an outstanding Rotarian, Glen "Doc" Miller, a great athelte and president of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1954. "Doc" was captain of the University of Iowa football team in 1923, and a player on the great Iowa teams of 1921-22 which beat Yale.

     Awards are presented at a luncheon attended by Rotarians, the senior players from each of the area teams, their coaches, parents, and honored guests. Scroll down to see pictures of the MVP picks from each school.

67th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Football Recognition Luncheon

Presented November 26th, 2012

Honored Guests

Dr. Gary Norris, Superintendent of Schools

Cora Turner, Executive Director of Student Services

Jeff Frost, Director of Education, Cedar Valley Catholic Schools

Columbus Catholic High School - Tom Ulses, Principal, Aundra Meeks, Atletic Director
East High School - Maria Padget, Principal, Al Pace, Athletic Director
West High School - Leslie Morris, Principal, Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director

2012 MVP Football Selections

Makayle Phillips, West - Jordan Martin, Columbus - Russell Jones, East

Columbus High School

Collin Beyer, Jack Conway, Austin Forker, Konnor Horan, David Jaramillo, Jordan Martin,
Cody Penrod, Jonathan Maas, Connor Watson, Jared Wright

Head Coach: Aundra Meeks
Assistants: Alex Bohl, Tim Ingles, Joe Giachino, Alex Moss, Casey Watkins
Team Chaplain: Msgr. Paul Steimel

Columbus coach Aundra Meeks and MVP Jordan Martin

East High School

Darrell Caldwell, Kelvin Clark, Rico Clemons, Michael Collins, Jared Cronan,
Jacob Faith, Tomah Hall, Jacob Hewitt, James Horton, Jordan Johnson, DJ Jones, Russell Jones,
Parrys Lewis, Juan Martinez, Taylor Newman, Darrius Riley, Alex Schutte, Aaron Taylor, Desmond VanArsdale

Head Coach: Kody Asmus
Assistants: Richard Carter, Jeremy Nixon, Cory Lang, Brad Schmitt, Terrance Freeney,
Dave Magnuson, Rob Griffin, Bruce Pietro, Jarred Herring and Justin Jacobs

East High coach Kody Asmus and MVP Russell Jones

West High School

Rashon Burrell, Skyler Capelle, Roberto Cortes, Ross Jensen, Josiah Kollie, A.J. Levendusky,
Dequayvious Martin, Jason Millett, Elliott Moeller, Ruben Nabor, Letrell Nash, Zach Newell, Nicholas Payton,
Makayle Phillips, Mike Price, Jared Randall, Jon Schmadeke, Jacob Showalter, Marqwane Smith, Mitchell VanArsdale

Head Coach: Lonnie Moore
Assistants: Matt Grimm, Andy Payton, Nick Roe, Kyle Knox, Eddie Fischer, Keith Harms, Will Brock,
David Treadwell, Sam Hudson, Matt Porter, Brad Gilligan, Brett Wheelan

West High coach Lonnie Moore and MVP Makayle Phillips

Special thanks to the 2012 Rotary Football Committee and volunteers.  
Roger Olesen provided both the Glenn "Doc" Miller plaques that are given to each award recipient and
the travelling trophy that is given to the overall MVP.
Thanks to Keaghan Bruncheon and Mason Fromm for photography and webpage.