Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2013 Athletic Awards

     Since 1946 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at his school for the next twelve months.


Glen "Doc" Miller Most Valuable Football Player

Blake Thomas, West High

Waterloo Rotary Football Luncheon Chairperson Chris Hurley presents 2013 MVP Blake Thomas

This regulation-size gold football, mounted on a base, is a travelling trophy given each year by the Downtown Waterloo Rotary to the outstanding player in football in the Waterloo Schools. It is given in memory of an outstanding Rotarian, Glen "Doc" Miller, a great athelte and president of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1954. "Doc" was captain of the University of Iowa football team in 1923, and a player on the great Iowa teams of 1921-22 which beat Yale.

     Awards are presented at a luncheon attended by Rotarians, the senior players from each of the area teams, their coaches, parents, and honored guests. Scroll down to see pictures of the MVP picks from each school.

68th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Football Recognition Luncheon

Presented November 25th, 2013

Honored Guests

Dr. Gary Norris, Superintendent of Schools

Cora Turner, Executive Director of Student Services

Columbus Catholic High School - Dale Monroe, Chief Administrator - Tom Ulses, Principal - Aundra Meeks, Atletic Director
East High School - Maria Padget, Principal - Al Pace, Athletic Director
West High School - Leslie Morris, Principal - Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director

2013 MVP Football Selections

Blake Thomas, West - Charles Verduzco, Columbus - Aryeh Miller, East

Columbus High School

Sean Kapler, Patrick McLaughlin, Mitch Roe, Jake Siddell, Paul Sink, Charles Verduzco

Head Coach: Aundra Meeks
Assistant coaches: Dan Knipp, Tim Ingles, Alex Moss, Alex Bohl, Brandon Weisert
Team Chaplain: Msgr. Paul Steimel

Columbus coach Aundra Meeks and MVP Charles Verduzco

East High School

Timoz Buford, Kenneth Hampton, Coreyon Keller, Skylar Hampton, Aryeh Miller,
Cody Sahr, Deshay Wright, Brandon Young

Head Coach: Kevin Meyer
Assistant coaches: Ryan Conrad, Richard Carter

East High coach Kevin Meyer and MVP Aryeh Miller

West High School

Dylan Borseth, Christian Burt, Justice Culpepper, Dylan Draeger,
Lance Dunn, Elijah Evans, Jaelon Jones, Arnell Kajtezovic, Kyler Mathews,
Nevzad Osmancecvic, Dan Puk, Darnell Rembert, Houston Simmons, Nicholas Sutton,
Blake Thomas, Lajashiene Williams, Alex Young

Head Coach: Lonnie Moore
Assistant coaches: Kyle Knox, Matt Grimm, Andy Payton, Will Brock
Nick Roe, David Tredwell, Eddie Fischer, Sam Hudson
Volnteers: Joel Vint, Brad Gilligan, Tyler Winters, Leo Frost

West High coach Lonnie Moore and MVP Blake Thomas

Special thanks to the 2013 Rotary Football Committee and volunteers.  
Roger Olesen provided both the Glenn "Doc" Miller plaques that are given to each award recipient and
the travelling trophy that is given to the overall MVP.
Thanks Mason Fromm for photography and webpage.