Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2014 Athletic Awards

     Since 1946 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at his school for the next twelve months.


Glen "Doc" Miller Most Valuable Football Player

Ben Russell, West High

Waterloo Rotary Football Luncheon Chairperson Chris Hurley presents 2014 MVP Ben Russell

This regulation-size gold football, mounted on a base, is a travelling trophy given each year by the Downtown Waterloo Rotary to the outstanding player in football in the Waterloo Schools. It is given in memory of an outstanding Rotarian, Glen "Doc" Miller, a great athelte and president of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1954. "Doc" was captain of the University of Iowa football team in 1923, and a player on the great Iowa teams of 1921-22 which beat Yale.

     Awards are presented at a luncheon attended by Rotarians, the senior players from each of the area teams, their coaches, parents, and honored guests. Scroll down to see pictures of the MVP picks from each school.

68th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Football Recognition Luncheon

Presented November 24th, 2014

Honored Guests

Dr. Jane Lindaman, Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Willie Barney, District Athletic Director

Columbus Catholic High School - Dale Monroe, Chief Administrator - Tom Ulses, Principal - Aaron Ferrie, Atletic Director
East High School - Marla Padget, Principal - Al Pace, Athletic Director
West High School - Leslie Morris, Principal - Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director

2014 MVP Football Selections

Ben Russell, West - Christian Hellman, Columbus - Malik Collins, East

Columbus High School

Henry Dropps, Nate Gieger, Greg Glass,
Lee Hansen, Christian Hellman, Jose Jaramillo,
Ramon Jaramillo, Jay Jasper, Beau McMahon,
Kyle McMahon, Isaiah McNamee, Hunter Morehouse,
Tyler Watson, Cam Weidner

Head Coach: Brad Schmit
Assistant coaches: Ben Barnett, Kyle Forness, Nick Ratchford, Sean Kennedy, Logan Weber, Brandon Weisert
Team Chaplain: Msgr. Paul Steimel

East High School

Aterrius Alexander, Bryce Austin, Malik Brookins,
James Carter III, Malik Collins, Johnnell Franklin,
Nick Gray, Thomas Hall, Jeremiah Harrison,
Evertt Jackson, Anfernee Jefferson, John Magnuson,
Larry Martin, Alonzo Muhammad, Leighton Nash,
Jibri Petroske, Joel Rosauer, Darren Scott,
Mike Shaw, Rodney Spraggins, Domineque Terry,
Devonta White, Tauheed Williams, Mark Wilson-Bey

Head Coach: Richard Carter

West High School

Jerrius Campbell, Yolanza Chambers, Sam Christensen,
Lincoln Conrey, James Hemmer, Mason Irvine,
Seth Jobes-Ryan, Abel Johnson, Edvin Kovacevic,
Marlon Moore, Donald Nix, Benjamin Russell,
Dale Sanders, Zach Thune, Jaob Tudor,
Edin Tutic, Jacob Wethermon

Head Coach: Lonnie Moore
Assistant coaches: Andy Payton, Eddie Fischer, Matt Grimm, Kyle Knox, Tyler Winter

West High coach Lonnie Moore and MVP Ben Russell

Special thanks to the 2014 Rotary Football Committee and volunteers.  
Roger Olesen provided both the Glenn "Doc" Miller plaques that are given to each award recipient and
the travelling trophy that is given to the overall MVP.
Thanks Tom Arthur and Mason Fromm for photography and webpage.