Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2016 Athletic Awards

     Since 1946 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at his school for the next twelve months.


Glen "Doc" Miller Most Valuable Football Player

Devon Moore, West High

Waterloo Rotary President Chris Hurley presents 2016 MVP Devon Moore

This regulation-size gold football, mounted on a base, is a travelling trophy given each year by the Downtown Waterloo Rotary to the outstanding player in football in the Waterloo Schools. It is given in memory of an outstanding Rotarian, Glen "Doc" Miller, a great athelte and president of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1954. "Doc" was captain of the University of Iowa football team in 1923, and a player on the great Iowa teams of 1921-22 which beat Yale.

     Awards are presented at a luncheon attended by Rotarians, the senior players from each of the area teams, their coaches, parents, and honored guests. Scroll down to see pictures of the MVP picks from each school.

70th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Football Recognition Luncheon

Presented November 28th, 2016

Honored Guests

Dr. Jane Lindaman, Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Willie Barney, District Athletic Director

Columbus Catholic High School - Dale Monroe, Chief Administrator - Aaron Ferrie, Principal - Tom Ulses, Atletic Director
East High School - Marla Padget, Principal - Brenton Shavers, Athletic Director
West High School - Andy Miehe, Principal - Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director

2016 MVP Football Selections

Treyshawn Plunkett, Columbus High School - Carter Thill, East High School - Devon Moore, West High School

2016 Keynote Speaker UNI Athletic Director David Harris

Columbus High School

Jacob Schons, Dylan Gantois, Lucas Benda,
Conner Martin, Kyle Boe, Ethan Schmitz,
Colin Schmitz, Kaleb Boleyn, Colton Beyrle,
Treyshawn Plunkett

Head Coach: Brad Schmit - Assistant Coaches: Jay Schmit, Ben Barnett,
Sean Kennedy, Mitch Rahm, Jeff Westhoff, Dale Patnode, Mark O'Donnell

East High School

Carter Thill, Tyus Phillips, Kardar Harring,
Alijah Muhammad, Omar Begic, Christian Banks,
Landen Clemmensen, Payne Johnson, Eric Gleiter

Head Coach: Xavier Leonard - Assistant Coaches: Skylar Ahrens, Jesse Gahrrety,
Corey Muhammd, Wilmot Wellington, Reed Pryor, Brandon Reyes

West High School

Carlton Todd, Devon Moore, Levi Lenius,
Jacob McKnight, Dylan Moore, T. Cooper,
Tyler Banker, Alex Capelle, Cameron Happel,
Jovontay Burris, Harrison Eighmey, Osman Huskic,
John Jackson, Dylan Meyer, Sam Gerst,
Jacob Dumuth, Tim Gillam, Jacob Gronoski,
Colton Hersey, Brendon Claussen, Alex Schneider,
Nick Joens, Alec Shader, Dane Hurst,
Conner Backens, Preston Miller, Ryan Duffy,
Tymaine Beamon, Isaiah Jones

Head Coach: Lonnie Moore Assistant Coach: Andy Payton, Eddie Fischer,
Matt Grimm, Steward Rickart

Special thanks to the 2016 Rotary Football Committee and volunteers.  

Thanks Mason Fromm for photography and webpage.