Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2016 Athletic Awards

     Since 1936 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. In a similar process, area volleyball coaches choose their MVP's and then, by ballot of all the coaches, award the trophy for overall Most Valuable volleyball player. The winners are entitled to display the trophy at his or her school for the next twelve months.

 Rotary Most Valuable Volleyball Player of 2016

Lauren McManus, Columbus High School

Lauren was unable to attend the ceremony so her senior teammates and coaches accepted the trophy.

24th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Volleyball Recognition Luncheon

Honored Guests

Dr. Jane Lindaman, Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Willie Barney, District Athletic Director

Columbus High School - Tom Ulses, Principal, Aaron Ferrie, Athletic Director

Don Bosco High School - Casey Redmond, Athletic Director

East High School - Marla Padget, Principal, Brenton Shavers, Athletic Director

Waterloo Christian School - Jennifer Neifer, Principal, Carmen Wipf, Athletic Director

West High School - Andy Miehe, Principal, Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director

Valley Lutheran High School - Brian L'Heureux, Principal, Ryan Smiley, Athletic Director

Keynote Speaker - Jadyn Spencer, Waterloo West High Grad and Former Division 1 Softball Player at Alabama

Columbus High School MVP - Lauren McManus


Head Coach: Hanna Nuss Assistant Coaches: Bryan Duggan, Kerry Merrifield - Bri Eighme, Emma Hau, Lauren McManus, Madi Porth, Sydney Shannon, Kendra Smith

Don Bosco High School MVP - Rayna Breitbach


Head Coaches: Abby Breitbach Robertson Assistant Coaches: Karen Breitbach, Jenni Schares - Rayna Breitbach

East High School MVP - McKayla Ryan

Head Coach: Meghan Sullivan Assistant Coach: Katie LeClere - Madison Hyke, Kelsi Peters, McKayla Ryan

Waterloo Christian School MVP - Sydney Nystrom (pictured far right with West High team)

Head Coach: Hanna Bro Assistant Coach: Carmen Wipf - Sydney Nystrom

West High School MVP - Jocelyn Chamberlin

Head Coach: Aaron Rhinehart Assistant Coaches: Cari Collins, Jaclyn Stoakes -
Jocelyn Chamberlin, Makenna Hemmen, Lily Henry,
Aviance Jones, Sydney McFarland, Abby Newlon,
Caylee Payne, Sydney Powell, Allison Trenkamp

Valley Lutheran High School MVP - Geneva Basye

Head Coach: Len Brokenshire Assistant Coach: Katie Gates - Geneva Basye

Special thanks to the Rotary Volleyball Committee:
Barb Prather and Jaclyne Heller.  
Greeters: Soo Greiman, Sue Beach, Annie VanderWerff, Wade Itzen, and Katelyn Pederson
Thanks to Mason Fromm for photography and webpage.

Back to Volleyball Honors