Rotary Club of Portland

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes December 15, 2023 at 1:30 PM

Board members in attendance:

Dick Hall – President and Treasurer, Patty Byers – President Elect, Bruce Jones – Immediate Past President, Tom Nickerson – Secretary, Jake Bourdeau - Sgt-At-Arms, Ben Millick – Director, Quinn Slayton – Director, David Ertz – Director, and Zach Newell – Director.

Absent: John Thompson – Vice President, Maggie McGauley – Director. Guests: Art Howe (Director elect), Roger Fagan and Erik Greven

Business:

With a quorum established, President Dick Hall called the regular meeting of the Board of Rotary Club of Portland, Maine to order on October 17, 2023 at 1:30 PM.

Approval of Minutes:

President Dick Hall reported that the Minutes of the October 27, 2023 board meeting were approved by email and posted to the website. There was no meeting in November.

Treasurer's Report: Hall

Dick Hall (Club Treasurer) reported that the November Treasurer report was approved by email.

The December report was distributed prior to the meeting. The club is in good shape. The Treasurer made the Board aware that International Committee's fundraising goals have not been met and may require Board action to fully fund the approved budget of \$19,000 for International projects. The Board discussed the issue and decided that no action was required at this time; the Board resolved to monitor the fundraising project, restated its commitment to support International projects, and to honor the approved expenses of \$19,000.

Due to a change in the International Project, the Board needs to update the Budget line for All Hands Holds Book. The Board voted to zero out budget line 6510 (All hands holds books) and to authorize a new line item of \$2,000 for Kosovo Clinic project. (Bruce Jones moved; Ben Millick seconded).

The Treasurer report was accepted as distributed. (Patty Byers moved, Bruce Jones seconded; unanimous approval)

Andrews Sq update; signage/dedication ceremony: Bruce Jones reported that the City has installed the benches.

New Member Approvals:

Dick Hall reported that new members Jacey Chavez, Timothy Moyer, Bill Milliken, Laura Green Rothermel, Andre Nzeyimana, and Susan Young were approved via email.

Club Elections:

Bruce Jones, Nominating Committee Chair, reported that in accordance with the club by-laws, the members voted on Friday 12/15/23 on the slate of officers for the year 2024-2025 that were proposed last week:

Incoming President – Patty Byers (2024-2025) 1st Vice President – John Thompson (2025-2026) 2nd Vice President – Justin Lamontagne (2026-2027) Secretary – Tom Nickerson Treasurer – Dick Hall Sgt at Arms – Jake Bourdeau Directors (2 year term 2024-2026) – Nannette Rogers Duncanson and Art Howe

International Long-term Youth Exchange:

The board discussed a request to support a long term youth exchange program. The board stated its support for the idea and invited the Youth Committee to attend the next meeting to review the request. No action was required at this time.

Community Funding Request:

The Board reviewed and discussed a request from Milestone for \$25,000 to help complete its expansion of its Detox program. The funds would be used to purchase 14 new platform beds and mattresses. The Board approved the request to fund the \$25,000. (Quinn Slayton made the motion and Patty Byers seconded – unanimous vote to approve). After the meeting a member who voted in favor requested a reconsideration. President Dick advised that reconsideration would occur at the next Board meeting.

Visioning Update:

Patty Byers confirmed that the Club Visioning event will take place at the IHC on February 15, 2024. The event starts at 4:30 and dinner will be available for purchase. This event will be in place of our meeting that week. The board will be recruiting a diverse group of at least 30 members for the event.

Other Business: None

Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned by President Dick Hall at 3:00 PM. The next board meeting will be on Meeting on January 26, 2023 at 1:30 PM at the IHC.

Minutes submitted by:	Tom Nickerson, Secretary
Approved by:	Dick Hall, President