MEETING OF JULY 10, 2007

Minutes of Meeting of June 26, 2007

- Conrad Welker presided over the Annual Awards and Installation Ceremony.
- Bill Pace offered the invocation.
- Bill Hughes led the Club in the Pledge of Allegiance.
- Thanks to our greeters, Kristy Gould and Tina Lowrimore.

LAST WEEK'S PROGRAM June 26, 2007 Awards & Installation Luncheon

- Conrad opened the meeting by asking Kristy Gould to come forward and induct the Club's newest member, Lindsay Wilson. Lindsay was welcomed.
- Conrad then recognized a number of special guests including, District Governor Milton Wheeler and First Lady Donna Wheeler, past District Governor Jake Jacobus, past District Governor Milam Cotton and former First Lady Betty Cotton, former First Lady Francis Ogletree, and District Treasurer Barbara Maudlin. The Petal Club President, Kay Spears was also welcomed as our guest.
- Conrad then announced that Mr. and Ms. Jerry Buti will be traveling overseas for the next several weeks. He gave Jerry three Rotary Club of Hattiesburg banners and asked that Jerry distribute them in the region in which he will be traveling.
- Bill Pace then distributed a number of Special Service Appreciation Certificates to Club Members who have assisted with a number of projects throughout the year. Receiving this recognition were; Todd Bradley, Mary Cromartie, Bill

MacLauchlan, Maura McLaughlin, and Gary Garner.

- Joe Riley then presented Certificates of Appreciation to outgoing board members. Receiving these certificates were Richard Topp, Kristy Gould, John Karnes, Allen Anderson, Steve Ramp, Gene Owens and Angela Herzog.
- President-Elect Freddy Walter then 0 presented the club information on the recipient of this year's Hanna Award, or the Rotarian of the Year Award. This award is named after T.C. Hanna, who is considered the founding father of the Rotary Club of Hattiesburg. The recipient of this year's Hanna Award is Conrad Welker. Walter reported that there was only one nomination for the award this year and the vote was unanimous. According to the Awards Committee, Conrad Welker has served Rotary and the communities in which he has lived for many years.
- o Freddy then presented information on this year's recipient of the Non-Rotarian Service Award. The award is named in the memory of Bill Gwyn. The award carries with it a Paul Harris Fellow Designation. The Rotary Club of Hattiesburg has made a \$1,000 contribution to the Rotary Foundation in the name of this year's recipient. According to the Committee, the person selected to receive this year's Non-Rotarian Service Award has exemplified the Rotary Motto of Service above Self through his many contributions to the community. This year's recipient is Dennis Pierce.
- Susan Light then presented Conrad with a tribute for his service throughout the year as our Club President. Conrad used the occasion to present to the Club a new tri-pod that he and Mary Virginia have donated to the club to hold our

Four Way Test banner. Conrad was recognized for his 57 years of Rotary involvement where he has been active in three clubs. Conrad thanked the Club and cautioned members to "never underestimate Rotary." As was shared at the recent Rotary International Congress, "Rotarians rush in where angles fear to tread." An example given was a truce that has been achieved in the fighting in Afghanistan while Rotary International comes in and administers the polio vaccine to children in the area.

- Milam Cotten was then invited to make a presentation. Milam recognized Mary Virginia Welker for being a strong supporter of Conrad in his many years of Rotary service. A Paul Harris Fellow Designation was bestowed on Mary Virginia for efforts throughout the years.
- District Governor Milton

Wheeler was then invited to install the newly elected officers and directors for the coming year. Accepting the oath of office were Todd Bradley, Perrin Lowrey, Bill McLeod, Kristy Gould, Freddy Walter, Richard Topp and A.D. Hunt. Resuming their service on the board for the coming year will be David Senne, Jonathan Shemper, Greg Garraway and Jeff Bowman. Freddy Walter then introduced his appointment for Sergeant of Arms, Tina Lowrimore.

 After exchanging president's and pastpresident's pins, Freddy made a few brief remarks to the club regarding the coming year. The Rotary motto for the coming year will be Rotary Shares. Freddy would like this year to be one to remember because of the service the club provides to the community. He would also like to see an increase in membership and an increase of contributions to the Rotary Foundation.

• The ceremony ended with an auction conducted by Francis Farmer. Freddy donated two day lilies for the auction and encouraged members to agree to bring an item or a service to the club for bid throughout the year. The two items were auctioned for \$100, a contribution that will be made to the Rotary Foundation.

THIS WEEK'S PROGRAM

President Freddy Walter is our speaker today.

- A.D. Hunt, 2007-2008 Chairman for Programs, announces the monthly chairs:
- July Tom Potter
- Aug-- Allen Anderson (Martha Saunders)
- Sept-- Mike Ratliff (2007-08 Governor speaks on the 4th of September.)
- Oct—Kris King
- Nov—Bill Pace
- Dec—Joe Riley (Meetings of 4th & 18th)
- Jan—Ann Wimbish
- Feb—Havden Mitchell
- Mar—Dan Kibodeau
- Apr—Perrin Lowery
- May--Richard Topp
- Jun—Kristy Gould

(SPOKES editor asks once again that program chairs e-mail bios of speakers for the next week by Friday of the previous week.)

Editor: Gary Garner