

Tuesday, June 21: President Sean Priebe presenting Sarah Case-Price and Samantha McCain with proceeds from our "Night in Italy" Spaghetti Dinner.



JUNE 28, 2016

MINUTES: JUNE 21, 2016

President Sean Priebe presided over the meeting. Thanks to Mike Ratliff who gave the invocation and to Ben Donald who led us in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Thanks to Fay Gilbert and James Mitchell who served as our greeters today.

Wes Brooks filled in for Jaclyn Adams and introduced our guests. Ben Donald has Kory Moune as his guest and Scott Hummel has Michelle Ford as his guest.

Sean then asked Sarah Case Price and Samantha Cane to come forward and presented them with a check to the Children's Center for Communication and Development in the amount of \$6,400. He noted that this check combined with the ticket sales made by Center volunteers, the Night in Italy event generated approximately \$10,000 for the Center. Sarah thanked club members for their support and noted that this is the twelfth year the two organizations have worked together on the event. Sean thanked Maura McLaughlin and Jennifer Payne for their organizational efforts devoted to this year's Night in Italy event.

Sean noted that Mike Ratliff and Erik Graham have birthdays this week. He also recognized David Hayhurst for recently announced advancements within David's area at the University of Southern Mississippi. He noted that USM was recently approved for two new engineering degree programs. They have also acquired an additional research vessel bringing their total number now to five. Maura McLaughlin announced that her son was recently admitted to the state bar.

Sean then asked that members and especially past president's plan to attend next week's meeting. The new officers and directors will be installed and past president's will be asked to pass the gavel to the new president, Jaclyn Adams.

Sign-up sheets are being circulated for a Meals-on-Wheels route at Christian Services. The service will require about one hour on one day of each week. If you are interested see Sean.

Posters are now available for the Bike-a-Thon. All members are urged to take one or several back to their office.

A ballot for president-elect and two board positions was circulated. Members were encouraged to vote and leave their ballots at the badge table when they leave today's meeting. There were no nominations from the floor to be included in the ballots. Sean also noted that approximately 30 additional votes are needed on the proposed bylaw changes. All members are urged to vote on those proposed changes in the very near future. Wes then introduced today's guest speakers, Jennifer Payne and Summer Eades. Jennifer is President and Summer is the Finance Chair of the Junior Auxiliary of Hattiesburg.

Jennifer noted that the Jr. League has 75 years of service in the Hattiesburg area. The organization is currently involved in 19 service projects and Jr. Auxiliary members are contributing more than 9,000 hours of community service each year. Each member is required to commit to 60 service hours each year. The organization is based in Greenwood but has chapters all across the state. It began with just 40 members and today has more than 100. Membership is a six year commitment.

During 2015 the organization contributed more than \$65,000 in one-time grants. Funds raised over the past few years and saved made these grants possible. These grants are above and beyond the 19 community projects the organization is involved in annually.

Some of the organizations supported by the Junior Auxiliary of Hattiesburg include the Dubard School, Tide School, the Edwards Street Kids, the HUB Child Advocacy Center, Thames Elementary school, Homes of Home, Dynamic Dyslexia Design and the Salvation Army, the Abbie Rogers Mother's Day Out, Bags of Hope, Caring & Nurturing Support, the Civitan Camp Carnival, the Crown Club, Family Affair, Kids Culture, Kid Power and Pennington's Night Out for the ARC. The organization also provides school backpacks, a Smart Art program, a Wardrobe Warehouse and provides vision screening in public and private schools. More than 4,100 children are helped each year by the Junior Auxiliary of Hattiesburg.

New members of the Auxiliary are required to adopt a Provisional Class Project each year. This year's project was the Children's Center Classic Fun Run and Carnival. The event raised more than \$1,000 which was donated to the Children's Center.

The annual Charity Ball is the organization's one fundraising event each year. It is scheduled for November 12, 2016 and will be held at the Lake Terrace Convention Center. Sponsorships are now being sought. The ball comes complete with entertainment, a meal and an annual auction.

If you are interested or would like more information, see Jennifer Payne or Summer Eades or contact the Jr. Auxiliary of Hattiesburg at P.O. Box 15433, Hattiesburg, MS 39404.

Minutes provided by: Lamar Evans, Executive Secretary

ROTARY CLUB OF HATTIESBURG OFFICER INDUCTION & AWARDS CEREMONY

Call to Order

Invocation

Pledge

Welcome of Guest

Award Presentations

Sean Priebe, President 2015-2016

Lynn Walton

Maura McLaughlin, Past President 2013-2014

Jaclyn Adams, Sergeant-at-Arms

Sean Priebe, President 2015-2016

THE "MILAM S. 'SONNY 34' COTTEN NEW ROTARIAN OF THE YEAR"

Awarded to a dedicated Rotarian who has been a member of the club for less than three years. This award is named for Dr. Milam "Sonny 34" Cotton, a dedicated Rotarian who lived to serve. Dr. Cotton was the last member of this club to rise to the level of District Governor. 2015 Recipient: Todd Watson

THE BILL GWYN "NON-ROTARIAN SERVICE" AWARD

Our club's best attempt to look beyond our membership. It is our opportunity to recognize someone from our region who exemplifies our club's values, our commitment to service, and the empowerment of those less fortunate. 2015 Recipient: Mike Dixon, Extra Table

THE JOE SPELL "SPIRIT OF ROTARY" AWARD

The Joe Spell "Spirit of Rotary" Award – Presented to a club member for their service not only to the Rotary Club of Hattiesburg, but to the community as well. This honor is named for Hattiesburg Rotarian, Joe Spell, who displayed a consistent, enthusiastic passion for the Rotary Club of Hattiesburg and Rotary International 2015 Recipient: Sean Priebe

THE T. C. HANNAH "ROTARIAN OF THE YEAR"

Given in recognition of their outstanding service and unwavering dedication to the Rotary Club of Hattiesburg. T. C. Hannah, charter member and first president of the Rotary Club of Hattiesburg. 2015 Recipient: Bill MacLauchlan

Induction of Officers & Board Members

Bill McLeod, Assistant District Governor Past President 2010-2011

The Passing of the Gavel

Closing Remarks & Adjournment

Jaclyn Adams, President 2016-2017

ROTARY CLUB OF HATTIESBURG

THANK YOU 2015-2016 OFFICERS & BOARD MEMBERS

JACLYN ADAMS, SEC-TREAS LAMAR EVANS, EXEC. SEC. WES BROOKS, PAST PRES. BRETT PHILLIPS, SGT-AT-ARMS DAN DAVIS TRACIE FOWLER FAYE GILBERT RYAN KELLY BILL MACLAUCHLAN MIKE RATLIFF!

THANK YOU, SEAN PRIEBE! Past President CONGRATULATIONS! JACLYN ADAMS President 2016-2017

Statement I

A CONTRACT OF A	
JULY 5	NO MEETING
JULY 12	Katie Dixon—MasterChef Season 7
JULY 19	Sarah Case-Price—Leadership Pinebelt, Person First Expo
JULY 26	Lisa Salcedo—Leadership Pinebelt, Lighting Longleaf
AUGUST 2	Kristen Reimert—Leadership Pinebelt, Smart Space
AUGUST 9	Sarah Holifield—Domestic Abuse Family Shelter

District 6840 · Club 04003

rotaryofhattiesburg.com