



Rotary Club of Eaglehawk

eaglehawkrotary@gmail.com www.facebook.com/eaglehawkrotaryclub www.eaglehawkrotary.org.au Club No 18317 ABN 18279406625 Chartered 8th August 1966.

Volume 55 - Number 36 - March 18th 2020

Position	Name	Mobile	Email Address
President	John Jones	0419 113 065	jjones@netcon.net.au
Secretary	Robert Hansford	0400 736 329	hansford.r@gmail.com
Bulletin	Alison Bacon	0417 562 952	eaglehawkrc.newsletter@gmail.com
Treasurer	Ron Payne	0419 946 994	ronald_payne1952@outlook.com
R.I. President	Mark Maloney		
District Governor	Grant Hocking		
Assistant Governor	Cliff Downey		

6.00pm for 6.30pm start at California Gully Mechanic's Institute Eaglehawk.

Meet Wednesdays

March 18th - April 15th

Chair			
Invocation	Dinner Meetings and Rotary Function cancelled until April 15 th .		
Duties	cancelled until April 13.		
Fellowship	This will be reassessed as required and		
Bar	members notified accordingly.		
Program			

MARCH

Birthdays

1st Alison Bacon 2nd Alf Thorpe

5th Lola Frank

5th Doug Harrison

15th Peter Ludeman

18th Joe Cogo

26th Ann Scott

31st Geoff Gallagher

Inductions

1st Bill Slee (1975)

10th Leon Scott (1976)

12th Rod Hanson (2008)

Anniversaries

27th Trevor & Marie Lock 11th Peter & Trudy Holden

Dates for Your Diaries March 20th BBQ - St. Josephs Primary School March 21st Dahlia & Arts Procession March 27th/28th/29th D9800 Conference at Ulumbarra Bendigo April 18th Burra Bowl Trolls 2020 Wildlife Fire Relief Fundraiser – Skate Competition May 16th/17th **Great Aussie Camping Swap Meet** June 7th Chrysler Car Club BBQ 8am-1.30pm June 24th RC Eaglehawk Changeover June 27th D9800 Changeover

Requests to all Members

Apologies to John via text or email only prior to 10am on the Wednesday of the meeting

President John's Report

While we have suspended dinner meetings our community service continues. Last Sunday we supported the local CFA championships at the Dick Turner track at Lake Weeroona. The attendance was much less than expected with about ten 'no show' teams but we did enjoy great support from those who were there. We were thankful for the early notice of reduced numbers and so did not over cater. Thank you to Graeme Lock, Mick Costello, Ron Payne, Geoff Gallagher and Caz Robinson for your support. Thank you also to Rod Hanson, Trevor Lock, Gordon McKern and Gary Frank who offered support but given, reduced numbers attending, were not required. I am confident this will lead to further opportunities in the future.

On Monday and Tuesday afternoons we collected furniture from White Hills Primary School and Specimen Hill Primary School to relocate to a storage facility in Golden Square pending shipping to Timor Leste. Thank you to Walter Lourie, Graeme Lock, Chas Cunneen and Ron Payne for your support. The Bendigo Maubisse Friendship Committee really appreciates the support we provide. The furniture was due to be packed into containers in mid-April but, like many other things, this has been postponed due to changing and uncertain circumstances.

Last week, together with a number of other members and partners, I attended a screening of Stephanie Woollard's recent documentary on her experiences in Nepal. She has achieved so much but there is still much to do. The event was organised by RC Bendigo South and generated a small profit. Stephanie expressed her desire to fund three hundred scholarships for children in remote communities. The board has agreed to partner with Bendigo South to fund four scholarships.

We had planned to support the St Joseph's PS fair on Friday evening but this has been cancelled as was the BMFC screening of the Miss Fisher movie on Thursday.

The Board Meeting proceeded on Wednesday evening and the early start allowed for some extended discussions on a range of issues, the most significant being membership. We accepted with regret resignations from Seamus Haugh, Robert Hansford and Peter Holden, all of whom shared similar reasons. Ron Moss has also submitted a resignation but is believed to be reconsidering and so that has been held in abeyance. This has led to casual vacancies for the positions of Secretary and Membership Director. Thank you to Gary Frank who has taken on the role of membership director in addition to fellowship. I have been given the Secretary's role and am very indebted to Alison for agreeing to help out in yet another additional role.

Over recent years there have been a number of resignations with a major consideration being the tensions generated between our traditions and our past as opposed to our relevance to younger members and the future of our Club and embracing the future.

Other significant decisions included a decision to cancel the Great Aussie Camping Swap Meet in May.

No-one knows what is in store in the short, medium and long term future. This generates a query as to the immediate future of fundraising and financial support for community groups. Our major fundraisers have been the Grange Raffle, Trivia Night and Christmas Stocking Raffle, all of which are uncertain at this stage. We have also had a number of cancellations of booking for the Mechanics which, in turn, has financial implications. Further, we are not sure what lies ahead for our local community into the future and the consensus was that this should be our immediate focus. This will have significant implications for discretionary giving at the end of this financial year.

We also resolved to withdraw from Youth Exchange at this time. Health considerations, travel arrangements, hosting and limitations on schooling options are all considerations taken into account. Bendigo South RC have also withdrawn from the program for this year.

I have had communication from Brock Gravenor with respect to the breakfast program at Eaglehawk PS and those who have offered support have been advised. Again this is a very fluid situation.

The D9800 Conference due to be held here in Bendigo on the last weekend in March has also been cancelled.

We will continue to publish the Bulletin on a weekly basis and encourage you to support each other in these challenging times.

Stay safe,

John P Jones, President 2019/2020