2018 - 2019 BOARD

*President Mike Handshew Pres-Elect Bill Davis *1st V-Pres Don Grabowski *2nd V-Pres Deb Dupler Alt Meet Chair Anikka Brill Tom Labagh *Secretary *Treasurer **Bob Hollinger** *"At large" Jeff Marsico

Wendi Grinnell Ken Wolfe

Past Pres Tim Haak

Friday Meeting Keynoters:

July 20 Steve Baker - (GAIN) Global Aid Network - Mobile Events Coordinator

27 District Governor John May

Aug 3 Dr. Brian Norcross - Conductor, Allegro Orchestra

10 Don Grabowski – Internat'l Convention

Invocation

volunteers needed.

17 Kim Jovinelli - Nat'l Watch & Clock Museum

24 Allen Smith

Friday Meeting Invocation.

July 20 Dave Halliwell

Aug 3

10

17

The Spoke

Monday Meeting

5:30-6:30pm

Moo Duck Brewery

Chair Anikka Brill Vice-Chair **Glen Bootay**

Monday Meeting Keynoters:

July 23 Greg Flury - Classification

30 Matt Swartz - Etown Fair

Aug 6

13

20

27

A Monday Meeting Minute:

It's very interesting to hear what our fellow members do and what inspired them to join the Elizabethtown Rotary Club.

The Rotary Club of Elizabethtown

convened 1925 - chartered 1926

PO Box 89 Club # 5338 Elizabethtown, PA 17022

www.elizabethtownrotary.org

http://elizabethtownrotary.blogspot.com https://twitter.com/EtownRotary https://www.facebook.com/etownrotary

Friday 12:15 pm E-town Public Library Monday 5:30 pm Moo Duck Brewery **Total Membership: 116**

Group E: Elizabethtown, Mt Joy, Donegal, Lititz Eastern York Co (Wrightsville). Hempfield, Manheim

> **District # 7390** Zones 24 & 32

Brenda Kreider Barlet, Editor

July 20, 2018 Vol. 69, #3

New Members

Paul Metzger

Classification: Energy Provider Sponsor: Wendi Grinnell

Matthew Lane

Classification: Financial Institution Sponsor: Tracy Miller

Carol Nelson

Classification: Training - Retired Sponsor: David Ritter

James "Jim" Nelson

Classification: Home Lending - Retired Sponsor: David Ritter

If you're interested in going to see comedian Earl David Reed on October 6th at the Whitaker Center, please contact Dennis Zubler (717-805-9352) today, July 20.

Seats are filling fast and he will get a block of seats so we can sit together. Tickets are \$23 per seat.

Volunteers needed...

Aug 4 Service Project :

> Wittel Farm Workday 1753 Mill Road

> > 8:30 - 12 noon

Keeping the Calendar

July 27 District Governor John May visit

Aug 4 Wittel Farm workday

Aug 8 (Wed) Board Meeting – Patton Campus 6:30 Aug 23 Family of Rotary - Strike Out Polio game

Phillies vs. Nationals in Wash DC

District 7390 Malawi Medical Mission Trip Sept

Oct 6 Earl David Reed - Whitaker Center

July Birthdays

- 5 Otis Kitchen
- 8 David Halliwell
- 8 Bart Ziegler
- 9 Ken Wolfe 12 Jeff Kline
- 12 George Biemesderfer
- 14 Heather Hohenwarter
- 19 Orville Lauver
- 23 Walt Heisey
- 28 Shannon Jordan
- 28 Ben Travis
- 30 Don White

Contribution Options at each Meeting

C-mas Tree \$hed (Happy \$) (Fun \$)

2018 – 19 ytd \$ 70

Pfautz Scholarship (Jars)

2018 – 19 ytd \$ 54.85

Pfautz Scholarship (50/50)

(The "pot" = 42 cards) \$ 189

2018 – 19 vtd \$ 37

MEMBERSHIP

Honorary: +*Chuck Mummert *Ann Reinhold Bob Messick

- Carl Strikwerda Joe Murphy 1959 George Achorn * Clair Baum 1966 * Harold Engle 1967 1969 * Don White 1972 * Dave Heisev Walt Heisev 1973 Jake Olweiler * Paul Wolgemuth 1979 Rick Erb 1981 * Noble Johnson 1982 * Ken Kreider 1985 Charlie Cobaugh * Kevin Dolan 1986 John Smith Roger Hipple 1989 Jack Hostetter Barry Smith 1990 Bill Davis Tom Labagh 1991 * Ken Wolfe 1992 Dane Whitmoyer 1995 * Dennis Zubler 1996 *Joe Rebman 1997 *John Martin II Steve Speers 1999 Barry Acker Tom Campbell Werner Fetter Milton Good 2000 Matt Denlinger Stacy Steinkamp
- * Dan Raffensperger Otis Kitchen (1965-85) * Ralph Detrick Dan Brill Deb Dupler Dave Hickernell
- Hob Kroesen (1980-91) 2001 2002 Brenda Barlet 2003 Bob Hollinger 2004 Deb Miller Marty Thomas-Brummé Bart Ziegler Scott Cvek David Halliwell (# 1981) Wayne Heisey 2006 Kevin Engle Al Frank Jim McCurdy Scott Kingsboro 2007 Joe Lisi (# 1973) Jeff Kline 2008 Steve Lane Tyler Smith Dan Robrish Michael Kalloz 2011 Stanley Mumma Robert Cronin 2012 Tim Haak Ben Hoffman (1965-67) 2013 Michele Balliet Jeffrey Clark Bill Moore (1974-81) Michael Handshew 2014 Don Grabowski Andrew Schoenberger 2015 Jeff Nolan (97-2008) Del Becker Lori Funck Keith Yocum Mitch Forry
- Marc Hershey Tracy Miller Jeff Marsico **Fd Thomas** Anikka Brill Mike Brubaker Kristen Brubaker Shannon Jordon (2014-15) Robert "BJ" Reedy
 - Ben Travis Glen Bootay Scott Little ('98-2005) Deb Jones Jennifer Koppel Dale Ressler (2007-14) Greg Grogan
- Past / Current President Past District Governor
- Past Assistant Governor
- # Joined Rotary- Another Club

MEMBERSHIP (cont.)

2017 Mark Bruce Sandra Bruce Wendi Grinnell Allison DeArment Trent DeArment

George Biemesderfer Greg Flury Mary Aukers-Endres Christian Zechman Eric Tereo Frank Telenko Heather Hohenwarter Jon "Norm" Norman Sallvann Martelli Meshelle Pinzon John Yoder

2018 Shaun McCoach

- # Chris Dellinger # David Ritter Shawn McPhee Matthew Blazi Robert Switalski Michele Switalski David Pelna
- # Nevin Lontz Donita Sturgis Darian Blauch Ryan Yorty Dustin Conrad Paul Metzger Matthew Lane # Carol Nelson

Jim Nelson

District Governor John May visits July 27!

11:15 - 11:45 meets with the Board Followed by our weekly Friday meeting and the Keynote Speaker





Ride on the "END POLIO" Bus!

Family of Rotary - Strike Out Polio! Bustrip to the *Phillies* vs. *Nationals* baseball game in Washington DC

Thursday, August 23 - 1pm game with a free concert by Nick Jonas after the game.

> Bus leaves E-town at 9 am and returns at approximately 7:30 pm.

Cost will be \$75 per person with \$5 of each ticket donated to Rotary's PolioPlus Campaign.

Contact Person: Joe Rebman https://register.etownrotary.org/

Share your Rotarian Magazine...

Don't throw them out!

Bring your magazines to either meeting location. Roger Hipple will affix a Rotarian label he designed over your name & address.

There are a number of "ready to go" copies of ROTARIAN Magazine waiting to be distributed in the waiting rooms of local businesses and offices of the community.

Pick up 2 or 3 on your way out today, and Help spread Rotary's message!

Hard copies courtesy of TOSHIBA Business Solutions.



RI President: **Barry Rassin** District Governor: John May

District 7390 Conference 12-13 April 2019 Hershey **International Convention** 1 - 5 June 2019



ROTARY of ELIZABETHTOWN Committee Chairs

Nominating Tim Haak Foundation Ken Wolfe David Ritter Membership Internat'l Projects Joe Rebman Pfautz Scholarship Bill Davis Public Image Dan Robrish Student Loan Kevin Dolan Website Tom Labagh, Tim Haak, Joe Rebman

Family of Rotary Dan Brill

Fundraising Chairs

Christmas Tree Sale Tim Haak GOLF Major Barry Acker Don Grabowski

TASTE Kevin Engle Mothers Day 5K Dan Brill Grants

Project Chairs

Service Committee Deb Jones Jeff Clark

4-Way Essay Mike Handshew Adopt-a-Highway Tyler Smith Group Study Exch Dave Halliwell

Paul Wolgemuth Jr Achievement Debbie Dupler

Community Volunteers Dan Brill John MartinII

RYLA Anikka Brill Students of Month Debbie Dupler Youth Exchange Dan Brill

Club Service Chairs

Clair Baum Chaplain Memorial Lori Funck Music Charlie Cobaugh, Don Grabowski Sergeant-At-Arms Bob Hollinger, Bill Moore, Stan Mumma, Charlie Cobaugh Sheriff Bart Ziegler The SPOKE Brenda Barlet

R