

Flying Rotarians

Celebrating 25 years of International Flying Rotarians (IFFR) New Zealand

1995 - 2020



Through the efforts of dedicated US Rotarian, Edison Kennell, IFFR originated and commenced operations on the 1st January 1965 in Seattle, Washington, USA. Since that time many thousands of Rotarians who have an interest in aviation have flown their aircraft to many events held in the 50 countries where Flying Rotarians reside.

Many IFFR members have also donated time and aircraft to transport equipment, supplies, medical specialists and volunteer Rotarians into developing countries. They have also transported time critical fluids, transplant organs and matching tissues.

When and where

did it all begin?

The IFFR (International Fellowship of Flying Rotarians) is an international organization enjoying support from over 1,500 members in more than 50 countries world-wide. IFFR is divided into four regions (Americas, Europe, Australia-Asia, and Africa), which consist of fourteen sections.

Membership is open to all Rotarians actively interested or engaged in aviation.





Establishing IFFR in New Zealand

During the 1994 Rotary International Convention in Taipei, two Rotarians – Graham Gimblett from NZ and Brian Condon from Australia met and in conversations discovered that they were each passionate aviators.

With Brian's support, Graham invited Rotarians across New Zealand who had an interest in aviation, to an exploratory meeting in Paraparaumu, north of Wellington on 4th February 1995 to discuss the potential establishment of a New Zealand section of IFFR. The meeting was attended by IFFR Australia Members Brian Condon, Ern Dawes and Malcolm McClure, along with Brian Souter, Harry Maidment and other New Zealanders.

As a result of the meeting the new chartered section was established with Graham Gimblett becoming Founding President and Brian Souter the Inaugural President for the new chartered section. Harry Maidment was elected as Secretary / Treasurer. This group remained in place until 1998 when Keith Mitchell was elected as President and Colin Kay commenced his term as Secretary / Treasurer.

The first Annual General Meeting with 18 members attending, was held on August 20th, 1995 at the Taonui Airfield in Fielding and was chaired by President Designate Brian Souter, with World President Brian Condon from Australia also present.

Joining fees were set at \$10 per member with an annual subscription at \$50 per person. At this time, IFFR New Zealand had 26 members.

The Application for Incorporation was signed on behalf of IFFR by the following members on 19th September 1999 - John Norrie (Deceased) Keith Mitchell, Ted Mason, Colin McLeod, Philip Evers-Swindell, Dave Jenkins (Deceased) Graham Gimblett, Michael Bryant, Keith Sinclair, Colin Kay, Phil Pacey, Ian Jenner, James Anderson, Arthur Smethurst, Martin Jones and Roy Marsden (Deceased).

Then on the 3rd December 1999, the International Fellowship of Flying Rotarians (NZ) was incorporated under the Incorporated Societies Act 1908.

Incorporation



The Constitution and Rules of IFFR (NZ) were prepared and included the following objectives.

- 1. To develop fellowship, understanding and acquaintance of Rotarians world-wide, who share a common interest in aviation and thereby help to achieve the furtherance of the ideals and objectives of Rotary International.
- 2. To serve the community and humanity through aviation.
- 3. To organise a minimum of two fly-ins per year, with smaller regional fly-ins organised at the discretion of regional members.
- 4. To achieve a better understanding of aviation among non-flying Rotarians and others, through appropriate Rotary Club programs.
- 5. To associate with and be a member of the world International Fellowship of Flying Rotarians.

The first Organising Committee meeting comprising Graham Gimblett, Dave Jenkins, Colin Kay, Rod Titcombe, Eric Linklater, Brian Souter, Ian Woods, Barrie Mabin and Harry Maidment was convened on 23 April 1995 to arrange the first fly-in.

Dave Jenkins and Ian Wood led the way with a fly-in to Feilding, to take place 19/20th August 1995.

Accommodation at the Raceway Motel was \$35 per person and the Feilding Motel at \$30 per person.

New Zealand's

First Fly-in







Since that first fly-in in 1995 IFFR members in New Zealand have enjoyed many biannual fly-ins throughout the country and overseas, including:

1996	Nelson and Waipukarau	
1997	Whakatane and Norfolk Island	
1998	Tekapo and Masterton	
1999	Westport and Ashburton	
2000	Auckland and Wanaka	
2001	Taupo and Norfolk Island	
2002	Blenheim and New Plymouth	
2003	Rotorua and Kaikoura	
2004	Gisborne and Napier	
2005	2005 Auckland and Christchurch	
2006	Bay of Islands and Wanganui	
2007	Hokitika and Paraparaumu	
2008	Tauranga and Martinborough	
2009	Ashburton and Kaitaia	



Fly-ins 1995 - 2020







ASHBURTON FLY-IN - SEPTEMBER 1999

The fly-in to Ashburton on the 17th to 19th September 1999 was attended by 32 members and partners in 8 aircraft from all over New Zealand.

On Saturday, a bus tour was organised of the local farming industry, including a beef company that export to Japan, and a deer farm.

After a tour of the aviation museum, the vistors were treated to an evening of fellowhip with the Rotary Club of Ashburton.





Fly-ins 1995 - 2020

2010	Motueka and Whakatane	
2011	Alexandra and Taupo	
2012	Hamilton and Blenheim	
2013	Tutukaka and Fielding	
2014	Queenstown and Whitianga	
2015	6 Christchurch and Gisborne 7 Dannevirke and Westport 8 Chatham Islands and Stratford 9 Nelson and Rotorua	
2016		
2017		
2018		
2019		
2020		





In 2020, IFFR in New Zealand celebrates its 25th birthday with 40 members.

As we look back, thanks to those who have taken the responsibility of leading IFFR NZ - Presidents who have held office since 1995.

Founding President	Graham Gimblett	1995
Inaugural President	Brian Souter	1995 - 1998
	Keith Mitchell	1998 - 2000
	Dave Jenkins	2000 - 2002
	Phil Pacey	2002 - 2004
	Graham Gimblett	2004 - 2006
	Wayne Scott	2006 - 2008
	Michael Bryant	2008 - 2010
	Brian Fielder	2010 2012
	Eric Linklater	2012 - 2014
	Peter Armstrong	2014 - 2016
	Warren Sly	2016 - 2018
	Garry Goodman	2018 - 2020
Current President	Chris & Murray Allison	2020 - 2022

IFFR in 2020



NZ World Presidents

Brian Souter (2006-2008) and Phil Pacey (2018-2020) have served as World President of IFFR



