Rotary International and The Rotary Foundation's Awards to District 6000 recipients

Significant award nominations selected by the District Governor are considered annually by Rotary International Directors and Trustees of the Rotary Foundation. It is a tribute to District 6000 that so many of its members have been chosen to receive RI and TRF's highest honors. Virtually all award nominations are restricted to no more than one per district with over 530 districts in the world potentially submitting candidates.

These awards have been historically presented at District Conferences. However, during the year 2019-20 (because of COVID-19 virus restrictions) the awards were presented at the honorees' club meetings virtually and as is always the case, every effort was made to ensure that they were a total surprise to the recipients.

Rotary International's Highest Individual Award		2003-04	Don Goering, Ames
SERVICE ABOVE SELF Recipients		1997-98	Herb Wilson, Iowa City
2022-23	John Ockenfels, Iowa City AM	1996-97	John Dasher, Ames
2021-22	Nancy Pacha, Iowa City AM	1994-95	Paul McNutt, Iowa City
2020-21	Carolyn Jons, Ames Morning	1993-94	Paul Hellwege, Boone
2019-20	Loring Miller, Decatur County		
2018-19	Jacque Andrew, Jefferson	SERVICE AWARD FOR A POLIO-FREE WORLD	
2017-18	Ray Muston, Iowa City	INTERNATIONAL	
2016-17	Herb Wilson, Iowa City	2021-22	Ken Noble, West Liberty
2015-16	Bill Tubbs, North Scott	2020-21	John Ockenfels, Iowa City AM
2014-15	Don Goering, Ames	2016-17	Bill Ashton, Davenport
2012-13	Bill Koellner, West Liberty	2015-16	Bill Tubbs, North Scott
2011-12	Brock Earnhardt, Davenport	2013-14	Corliss Klaassen, Chariton
2010-11	Gary Pacha, Iowa City	2010-11	Susan Herrick, Boone
2007-08	Jim Peterson, Iowa City AM	2008-09	Loring Miller, Decatur County
2000-01	John Cortesio, Des Moines	2006-07	Don Goering, Ames
1995-96	Bud Louis, Iowa City	CEDVICE AV	WARD FOR A ROLLO FREE WORLD
		SERVICE AWARD FOR A POLIO-FREE WORLD	
Rotary Foundation's Highest Individual Honor		REGIONAL	
DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD		2022-23	Alka Khanolkar, Keokuk
2022-23	Jim Peterson, Iowa City AM	2020-21	Peggy Geiger, Decatur County
2021-22	Bill Tubbs, North Scott	2013-14	Ed Arnold, Northwest Des Moines
2020-21	Corliss Klaassen, Chariton	2008-09	Corliss and Jeanne Klaassen, Chariton
2019-20	Brock Earnhardt, Davenport	POLIO PLUS PIONEER AWARD (Service prior to 1992)	
2010-11	Herb Wilson, Iowa City	2019-20	Ken Noble, West Liberty
2008-09	Don Goering, Ames	2019-20	Ken Noble, West Liberty
2006-07	Paul Hellwege, Boone	ROTARY IN	TERNATIONAL EXCELLENCE IN SERVICE
The Dates, Farm dations Correct Utilities U.S.		TO HUMANITY AWARD (non-Rotarian recognition)	
The Rotary Foundations Second Highest Honor		2019-20	Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, Des Moines
	OF MERITORIOUS SERVICE		, ,
2020-21	Terry Geiger, Decatur County	ROTARY IN	TERNATIONAL VOCATIONAL SERVICE
2019-20	Gerald Klonglan, Ames	AWARD	
2018-19	Diana Reed, Northwest Des Moines	2016-17	Merle Anderson, North Scott
2017-18	Bill Koellner. West Liberty	2015-16	Dave Fox, Ames
2016-17	Cal Litwiller, Mount Pleasant	2014-15	Stephen Jones, Ames
2015-16	Doug Flournoy, Fairfield	2013-14	John Canady, Iowa City
2014-15	Brock Earnhardt, Davenport	2012-13	Michael Horton, East Polk
2013-14	Bill Tubbs, North Scott		
2012-13	Jim Peterson, Iowa City AM		TL. ROTARIAN SPOUSE AWARD
2011-12	Corliss Klaassen, Chariton	2016-17	Colleen Welch, Ankeny

Updated: 8-23-23

2015-16

2014-15

2013-14

2012-13

Jo Noble, West Liberty

Doris Goering, Ames

Mary Belknap, Des Moines

Vernette Knapp, Iowa City AM

Denny Skinner, Nevada

Herb Wilson, Iowa City

John Kleinschmidt, Ames

Joseph Walt, Indianola

Karin Franklin, Iowa City AM

2010-11

2009-10

2008-09

2005-06

2004-05