Rotary District 6000 Annual Meeting Minutes

The annual meeting of 65 clubs in District 6000 was held at 10:15 a.m. on Friday, March 13th in Rochester, MN during NCPETS. Club representatives and club's presidents-elect were present. They will take on their leadership roles in their respective clubs beginning July 1st of this year 2020.

There was a quorum and approval by hand vote of the agenda, previous annual meeting minutes and District annual financial statements as distributed. The District 2020 - 2021 proposed budget was presented, and Rotarian Bill Koellner of West Liberty made the motion and Dick Pringnitz of Nevada seconded it. Motion approved.

There was a recommendation from the District Board of Directors that was submitted to amend the Bylaws to increase the diversity of its members on the District Board by adding three at large directors serving staggered three-year terms: Devin Boyer (Waukee), Michelle Cassabaum, (Nevada), and Shawn Mullen, (Des Moines). The three are serving interim terms presently. Motion to approve was made by Rotarian Dave Cook of Boone and Barb Thomas of Iowa City seconded the motion. Motion approved.

The PEs approved Steve Wieneke of the Rotary Club of Ankeny as the District Governor Nominee Designee and he will serve as DG for the 2022-2023 Rotary year. Motion by Bill Koellner, West Liberty and second by Amy Nicholson. Motion approved.

The proposed District dues increase of \$5 per club member was submitted to ensure the financial health of the District and would become effective July 1st of the year 2020. DGE Steve Dakin mentioned that decrease in membership and that there has not been a dues increase for over 12 years and so the proposal was put forth. In response to a question, Susan Herrick of Boone, mentioned the District office is where all District 6000 Rotary books, records etc. are kept, where District Board meetings, and educational meetings are held and it is where our District administrator Carolyn Scharff works. After other questions and discussion, Susan Herrick of Boone made the motion that was seconded by Amy Nicolson of Iowa City AM., motion approved with two clubs opposed.

There was a question that was addressed by a member of the Rotary Club of Bettendorf of how fiscally sound the money given to the Polio Sculpture was.

Ron Heideman was introduced as the district trainer, and Steve Dakin introduced the Rotary theme for his year "Rotary Opens Opportunities".

The meeting was adjourned at 10:43 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted

Alka Khanolkar District Secretary 2019-20 DG 2021-2022 Rotary Club of Keokuk