

1189 1.111

Botswana Swaziland Mozambique South Africa COMEGETATASTEOFAFRICA !

District 9400 covers the following countries, Botswana, Swaziland, Mozambique and the following provinces in South Africa – Gauteng, Limpopo, North West and Mpumalanga.

Breathtaking experiences and captivating activities await you!



Great Safari Opportunities



Beautiful Scenery



Fantastic Cultural Experiences



Inspiring Political History

Wildlife and Safari's



















Rich Culture and a Divers Population

















Beautiful Scenery and Nature

















Fascinating History and Interesting Places to Visit

















We must use time wisely and forever realize that the time is always ripe to do right. Nelson Mandela

To discuss an exchange with District 9400, contact ARINA JANSE VAN RENSBURG - RFE D9400 Chairperson Mobile: + 27 83 440 3401 Email: <u>arinajvrensburg@gmail.com</u>

See more about how we do things: Visit our Blogspot <u>http://rfe9400inbound.blogspot.co.za/</u> Learn more about our district: <u>http://rotary9400.co.za/</u> <u>https://www.facebook.com/rfe9400/</u> <u>http://www.southafrica.net/za/en/landing/visitor-home</u>

About us

Rotary District 9400 District 9400 is a multi-country district namely:

Botswana:

- Botswana is a landlocked country in Southern Africa which became independent in
 September 1966. The local population refer to themselves as Batswana and they speak
 Setswana and English. Botswana is named after the main tribe of the country, the
 Tswana people. "Bo-" Tswana refers to the people, "Se-" Tswana refers to the language.
 A single person ID a "Mo-"Tswana and the people are "Ba-"Tswana.
- The country is fairly flat and is mostly covered by the Kalahari dessert. The surrounding countries are South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe and a small section of Zambia. With a population of just over 2 million people, Botswana is a very sparsely populated country. The currency is the Pula and the country is divided into 9 Districts.

Swaziland:

- Swaziland is also a landlocked country in Southern Africa, surrounded by South Africa and Mozambique to the East. Officially known as the Kingdom of Swaziland, it is a very small country. The current ruler is King Mswati III and the capital is Mbabane. The population is primarily ethnic Swazis who speak siSwazi.
- Swaziland is well known for its culture with two very well-known festivals in December and August. December is normally the time for incwala "the main ritual of Kingship" with the King as the most important person there. Umhlanga "the Reed Dance ceremony" takes place in August when thousands of unmarried and childless girls participate in this eight day event.

Mozambique:

- The Republic of Mozambique is a coastal country in South East Africa with (from North to South) Malawi, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Swaziland and South Africa surrounding it. The currency is the Mozambican metical and the official language is Portuguese. Some of the other languages spoken is; Swahili, Sena and Makhuwa. The country have a population of about 25 million people and have rich and extensive natural resources
- The Coastal trade of Mozambique was first dominated by Arabs and Persians, and later the Portuguese from around the 1500's. The country is divided into 10 Provinces (Provincias) and about 130 districts and again further into Administrative posts and lastly Localities (the lowest geographical level)

South Africa

- The Republic of South Africa covers the southern tip of Africa and has about 2,800km of coastline. South Africa is bordered by Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Mozambique. Within the country is Lesotho, an enclave surrounded by South African territory. South Africa is a multi-ethnic society with eleven official languages.
- South Africa contains some of the oldest archaeological sites in the world including human fossils. One of the eight Unesco World Heritage sites in South Africa is "The Cradle of Humankind" situated in the Gauteng province. The country is divided into nine provinces which in turn are divided into districts, metropolitans and district municipalities.