

District 6270 Annual (2021-2022) Business Meeting Minutes April 29,2022, 10:30 – 11:45 AM, Osthoff Resort, Elkhart Lake WI

Minutes

Call to order:

Meeting was called to order by District Governor Lisa Werner at 10:30 AM.

Meeting Notice:

Official notice of this meeting was distributed to district clubs March 15, 2022. All documents for the meeting were posted on the Districts Google Drive for viewing for the meeting.

Roll call of District Clubs – Kohlmeyer/Koop

Registered Clubs for the meeting were: Cedarburg-Grafton, Cindy Petted; Elkhorn, Shelly Higgins; Elmbrook, Tom Curl, Harry Farchmin, Mark Zalewski; Fond du Lac, Loree Shady; Fond du lac Morning, Jeff Reed, Linda Selk-Yerges, Barb Senn; Fox Cities Morning, Deb Rohrkaste; Lake Country-Hartland, Michele Schmidt, Ken Schuman; Lake Geneva, Jane Ipsen; Manitowoc Sunrise, Dr. Barry Bast; Menomonee Falls, Mike Bauman; Mequon-Thiensville Sunrise, Lawrence Kinney, Alice Sedgwick; Milwaukee, Steve Chevalier, Joanne Grunau, John Hein, Mary McCormick, Theresa Reagan, Natraj Shanker, Francis Vogel; Milwaukee Amigos After Hours, Marta Carrion; Milwaukee North Sunrise, Diane Milner; Milwaukee Rotaract, Mark Ruedinger; Mitchell Field, Ted Gurzynski; Mukwonago, Rick Debe; Neenah, Dave Kohlmeyer, Kristopher Ulrich; Oconomowoc, Jackie Foti; Oshkosh, Karen Schibline, Cathy Zimmerman; Oshkosh Southwest, Craig Burnett, Karlene Leatherman; Plymouth, James Hansen; Racine Founders, Steen Sanderhoff; Ripon, Nita Krenz, Liz Nevitt; Sheboygan Noon, Sheryl Dyksterhouse, Derek Klahn, Stuart Schmidt; Two Rivers, Michael Ditmer; Waukesha, Pete Bosch, Brad Wells; Waukesha Sunrise, Gregory Hatt; West Allis, Don Drecktrah, Nancy Rhodes; West Bend, David Slinde; West Bend Sunrise, Mary Beth Seiser, Nancy Slinde

Roll Call of District Board / Officers, District Secretary Koop,

Those attending were: DG Lisa Werner, DGE Mike Phillips, DGN/Foundation Chair Don Griffing, Secretary Tamie Koop, Treasurer Dennis Swetlik, Trainer Lisa O'Halloran, IPDG Craig Burnett, PDG Steen Sanderhoff, PDG Jeff Reed, Director-at-Large (Large) Jessica Gatzke; District Rotaract Representative, Mark Ruedinger; Administrative Assistant Dana Kohlmeyer.

Additional meeting attendees and zoom attendees: Elmbrook, Tom Hochuli; Fond du Lac Morning, Sylvia Reed; Manitowoc Sunrise, Paul Roekle, Mike Woznick; Mequon Milwaukee Diversity Passport, Tanisha Williams; Mequon-Thiensville Sunrise, Brian Monroe; Milwaukee, PDG Rick Luedke; Milwaukee Amigos After Hours, Frey Faris, Dorothy Krupa, PDG Angela Rester; Milwaukee North Sunrise, Ruby Dent; Mitchell Field, Rob Bassett; Ripon, Kelly Mundell; Sheboygan Early Bird, Kevin Sander, Salaseini Sander; Sheboygan Noon, Mike Slawny; Slinger-Allenton, Susan Henkel; Two Rivers, Dr. Bob Gahl; West Bend Sunrise, Carrie Kasubaski, Whitnall Park, PDG Dan Christianson; Seven (7) Outbound RYE Students.

Voting procedure explanation:



The district used menti-meter as the official voting tool method with this meeting.

Agenda Approval:

Liz Nevitt moved to approve the agenda as presented, motion was seconded by Harry Farchmin. Motion passed.

Minutes of previous annual meeting:

Ted Gurzynski moved to approve the minutes of the previous annual meeting, motion was seconded by Joanne Grunau. Motion passed.

Financial Report and Hawkins Ash Report:

District Treasurer Dennis Swetlik highlighted the February 2022 Financials and the results of the Hawkins Ash Report. Rick Debe moved to accept the financial and the Hawkins Ash reports, seconded by Theresa Reagan. Motion passed.

2022 - 2023 District Budget:

DGE Mike Phillips presented and highlighted the 2022-2023 district budget. Diane Milner moved to accept the 2022 -2023 district budget, seconded by Jeff Reed. Motion passed.

Change in Bylaws, Committee membership, Section 8.04

Jeff Reed, Governance committee chair presented the proposed by-law change to section 8.04, committee membership of the district bylaws to allow non-Rotarians to serve on some district committees. Theresa Reagan moved to adopt the proposed change to the bylaws, seconded by Mary Beth Seiser. Motion passed.

Ratification of Pete Bosch:

Steen Sanderhoff reported on the nomination and selection process of the district governor for the 2024-2025 Rotary year. Steen Sanderhoff moved to ratify the selection of Pete Bosch, of the Waukesha Rotary Club as the District Governor for the 2024-2025 Rotary year, seconded by John Hein. Motion passed.

Council of Legislation/Council of Resolutions Report:

Angela Rester reported on her work as the District Representative to the Council of legislation. The Council enacted numerous enactments, examples include club minutes to be posted within 30 days of the meeting, removed location restrictions, members can be proposed to any Rotary club, Rotaractors can attend Rotary meetings, RI dues increase of \$11.00 over3 years, emphasis on Positive Peace, DEI, and clubs can determine their own attendance requirements.

Strategic Plan Update:

Jeff Reed gave an update on the districts' activities within the Strategic Plan. Activities included the 4 areas of the plan, plus development of the DEI and Technology committees. New plan will need to be worked on for the coming year.

Foundation Reports:



Don Griffing, Foundation Committee chair mentioned all the different areas and subcommittees that work under the Foundation umbrella.

District Grants Committee:

Jeff Reed gave an updated report on District Grants undertaken in this Rotary year. New for the 2022-2023 year, will be the using of the Club Runner grant module. Twenty-two district grant projects were funded with DDF.

International Service Committee Grants:

John Hein of the International Service Committee gave a status report of grants and projects. This committee had \$55,000. Of DDF to award to projects. Two projects were closed, there are five open projects.

Technology Committee Report:

Cindy Petted of the Technology committee reported on the committee work in assisting the Board and the District and purchased software for usage in the district.

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion (DEI):

Brian Monroe shared that this committee first started as a Task Force and has become a standing committee of the district. Providing clubs with speakers and resources to do DEI by practicing the 4-Way test.

Training Committee Report:

Lisa O'Halloran shared what district wide trainings were done via zoom. Encouraged people to check the calendar on the district website and use resources that are available.

DG Year in Review report:

DG Lisa Werner summarized her year as "what's next" and getting things back to normal now following the pandemic. Some new starting points, Youth Protection efforts underway, virtual new member orientation and "Thanks" to people who worked/volunteered in Rotary this year.

Outlook for 2022-2023 Year:

Current DGE Mike Phillips gave a brief report on his upcoming year as "keep good things rolling". Stop the shrinkage in membership. Clubs to look at increased service work to gain members.

Old Business: None

New Business: None

Adjournment:

Don Griffing moved that the meeting be adjourned, seconded by Jeff Reed. Motion passed. Meeting adjourned at 11:48 AM.

Respectfully submitted, Tamie Koop PDG & District Secretary