## Introducing Rotary District 7815



Effective July 1, 2022, Rotary Districts 7810 and 7820 will merge to become District 7815. The 10 clubs in Maine, which are currently part of District 7810, will join District 7790, which already includes clubs from Maine and Quebec. Iles de la Madeleine will become part of the 7790 watershed. 7815 will be a bilingual district (French and English).

The leadership team planning the amalgamation has taken the approach that as Rotary transforms, it is an opportunity to merge the best of the 7810 and 7820 and build a new district capable of supporting the future success of Rotarians in Atlantic Canada and St. Pierre and Miquelon. In this regard, they wrote the following "vision" for District 7815.

Rotary District 7815 will inspire diversity, collaboration, fellowship and service.

- Rotary Atlantic will have 75 clubs and approximately 2,450 members.
- Transition planning for the creation of 7815 is well underway and led by a team made up of the leadership 'flow' of 7810 and 7820. The team is co-chaired by DGNs Roger Sevigny (7820) and Harvey Bass (7810).
- Districts will operate "normally" in the current Rotary year and next year.
- Individual participants and Rotary clubs will notice very little difference.
- Planning for active integration will begin this year through sub-groups co-led by leaders from 7810 and 7820.

The sub-groups will be responsible for mainstreaming in the following areas:

- o Governance and administration
- o Finance
- o Website / IT
- o Foundation
- o Health of clubs (membership)
- o Public image and communications
- o Strategic planning and development of a leadership plan
- o Youth
- o Training
- o Rotaract

- Over the next year DGs Darren Hansen (7810) and Alex Twells (7820) will collaborate and integrate so that by July 1, 2022, change will be smooth.
- Starting in October, the annual conferences will be a collaboration between 7810 and 7820.

## **District Leadership**

<u>District</u>	<u>Rotary Year</u>	<u>Leader</u>
7810	2020/2021	John Slipp
7820	2020/2021	Ian Doyle
7810	2021/2022	Darren Hansen
7820	2021/2022	Alex Twells
7815	2022/2023	<b>Harvey Bass</b>
7815	2023/2024	Roger Sevigny