MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MONTHLY MEETING OF

LEA COUNTY WOMEN'S NETWORK September 19, 2008

The regularly scheduled meeting of the Lea County Women's Network was held on Friday, September 19, at the Turf Club at Zia Race Track.

Meeting was called to order by President, Jennifer Jordon at 12:20 pm.

Prayer was led by Sharon Clark, and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Dee Dutton.

The minutes of the previous month's meeting were reviewed. A motion was made to approve the minutes by Dee Robinson and seconded by Suzanne Holler. Motion carried.

Guests included: Kathy Moran

Committee Reports:

Corinne DiBlasi introduced three of the LCWN scholarship recipients: Cassy Hire, Deidre Priest, and Krislynn Knapp

Louise Hudson reported on the mentoring committee. Only four girls showed up for the mentoring meeting at the high school, and two of them were in the program last year. No other applications have been turned in from the high school. A presentation was made at Kingsgate Academy this past Monday, and there was some interest there in the program. Meetings will be the 2nd Monday evening each month at Trinity Lutheran Church.

Sharon Clark announced that nominations are needed for the annual LCWN Career Achievement Award and the Janet Seagrave Lifetime Achievement Award. These awards will be made at the Annual Banquet in January, 2009.

Jennifer Jordon announced that a 7-member nominating committee is needed to develop board member nominations for 2009 and present those nominations to the Board. Ballots were completed by those present to vote on the members of the nominating committee. Ballots were counted. The results included Lynda Lakin, Sharon Clark, Dee Dutton, Louise Hudson, Suzanne Holler, Julie Hayles, Kim Baugh. Sharon Clark volunteered to chair the committee.

The guest speaker, Dr. Steve McCleary, was introduced by Suzanne Holler. Dr. McCleary is the president of NMJC. He spoke on the upcoming Education Bond Issue D election

Louise passed out shopping cards to use at Albertson's so that a percentage can be earned to help fund the mentoring committee. The cards do not earn a discount on groceries, and they must be handed to the cashier each time a purchase is made.

The next meeting will be the third Friday in October: October 17.

The meeting was adjou	arned on a motion by Suz	anne Holler and a second by Dee Robinson.
Approved this	day of	, 2008
Jennifer Jordon, Presid	lent	Marianne Westbrook, Secretary